Pecan Pie Bars (Gluten Free or Regular): Week 5 of 10 Weeks of Cookies

In looking for a new cookie recipe to try, I came across these pecan pie bars. And since Thanksgiving is just a few days away, it seemed a fitting thing to attempt. I have always loved pecan pie, but of course, haven’t eaten any in years since going gluten free.

These are so fun because you can just pick them up as opposed to needing a fork like you do with traditional pecan pie. I altered the original recipe a bit, by subbing brown rice flour for the all purpose flour and by adding extra pecans. I hate when I see a pecan pie that is skimpy on the pecans.  So sad!

Anyway, I hope you give these a try. They were super easy to make. And everyone who tried them thought they were fabulous. Perhaps these would be a welcome addition to your Thanksgiving spread? Let me know if you try them and how they turn out.

Pecan Pie Bars (Gluten Free or Regular)

Ingredients:

Crust:
2 cups all-purpose flour (Or white or brown rice flour for Gluten Free)
1/3 cup white sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt

2/3 cup butter (10 2/3 TBSP)

Filling:
3 eggs
1 cup light corn syrup
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups chopped pecans (the original recipe called for 1 2/3 cups pecans but I always like extra so I increased them)

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a 9X13 baking dish with heavy foil and spray with cooking spray.

2.In a large bowl, stir together the flour, 1/3 cup sugar, and salt. Cut in 2/3 cup butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. You can use a pastry blender or just two knives. Sprinkle the mixture evenly over the prepared pan, and press in firmly.

3.Bake for 20 minutes in the preheated oven.

4.While the crust is baking, prepare the filling. In a large bowl mix together the eggs, corn syrup, 1/2 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons butter, and vanilla until smooth. Stir in the chopped pecans. Spread the filling evenly over the crust as soon as it comes out of the oven.

5.Bake for 25-30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until set. I usually like things on the rare side and a little gooey but these you want cooked all the way through so make sure the middle is set. If the top starts getting to browned cover with aluminum foil.

6.Allow to cool completely on a wire rack before slicing into bars with a sharp knife.

Enjoy!

9 responses to “Pecan Pie Bars (Gluten Free or Regular): Week 5 of 10 Weeks of Cookies

  1. Gluten free anything is ALWAYS great

  2. They look yummy. Did you use just rice flour for the all-purpose flour?
    Thank you.

  3. yep, I used just straight rice flour. I’m sure you could use another flour, like sorghum, but would want to make sure it is something very mildly flavored. in other words, I wouldn’t use a bean, soy, or quinoa since those have such distinctly different flavors.

  4. Hi! I got your site from my mom (she works with your dad) at MTW. Everything looks amazing and you’ve made some things that I have made in the past, but you’ve made them GF which is exciting to see.
    I made similar pecan pie bars over Thanksgiving with a shortbread crust that were to die for…however, it was right after Christmas when I found out I need to majorly cut back on my gluten intake. Since then, I’ve been GF and not really missing it! I’m thrilled to see your recipes that look amazing and are GF and to try them myself sometime. I’ve been an avid baker since I was a kid, so this is going to be a learning experience going GF in that area.

  5. Kristin, glad your GF journey is going well so far. Please let me know if there is anything I can do to help you. I’d be happy for you to email or call any time if you have questions or you can, of course, post here. There are a lot of good GF blogs out there that are so helpful. I’ve benefited from so many creative people/cooks. Make sure you check out Gingerlemongirl.com, glutenfreegirlandthechef.com, and theartofglutenfreebaking.com . Those are some of my favorites. Happy baking! 🙂

  6. I just left a comment, but not sure if it worked. Just in case, thanks for the tips! I look forward to trying some new things and have ordered the GF flours to make the pizza crust you have on here. 🙂

  7. kristin, you will LOVE the pizza. it is the closest thing to real pizza I have had in 7 years… and my family actually prefers it over gluten filled pizza if that tells you anything! 🙂 hope you will report back and let me know how yours turns out.

  8. I made these for yesterday for my first gluten free Thanksgiving. I was just diagnosed with celiacs about a month ago. These were wonderful and easy too! Thank you!!!!!!!!

  9. Amanda Mitchell

    Which would be better to use Almond flour or sweet rice flour.

Leave a comment