Big Ole M&M Cookies: Week 4 in 10 Weeks of Cookies

This post is in honor of my sweet little girl Mercy. She really wanted to make some cookies with me the other day and specifically requested some kind of M&M cookie. We searched for recipes and ended up adapting several and kind of coming up with our own. They turned out great, with a crackly exterior and soft chewy interior. And of course, she was super happy that they were studded with M&M’s. I actually only made 1/2 of them with the candies (I ran out of them!!!) , and the other half, I loaded with chopped walnuts for the adults.  Both combinations were delicious.  I used Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix for these but I am sure you could use any GF baking mix that you like. And, as the name implies, they are big. My kids squealed when I handed them these extra large cookies with brightly colored M&M’s everywhere. Mission accomplished! 🙂

Big Ole M&M Cookies (Gluten Free or Regular)

Ingredients

1 cup all-purpose flour (I used Pamela’s Gluten Free Baking Mix)
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 ounces semisweet or milk chocolate, coarsely chopped (I used Hershey’s dark chocolate chips)
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter, cut into pieces
3/4 cup M&M’s
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
Directions

 

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt; set aside.

In a medium microwave-safe bowl, place the chopped chocolate and the butter. Microwave for one minute.  Stir. Microwave again for one minute and stir well. If the chocolate is not fully melted, continue microwaving in 30 second intervals  until the chocolate and butter are well combined (don’t overheat the chocolate or it can seize and turn hard and unusable). Let the mixture cool slightly, about 2-3 minutes until it is warm or room temperature.  In a large bowl  combine the chocolate mixture, sugar, eggs, and vanilla. Mix on medium speed until combined.

Gradually mix in flour mixture.

Stir in M&M’s.  I also like to reserve a handful to put on top of the cookies so that I can guarantee there are M&M’s showing all over the top of each one.

Line baking sheets with parchment paper.

Drop dough onto baking sheets by tablespoonfuls spacing them about 1 1/2 inches apart.  Bake the cookies until they have slightly flattened and there are a few cracks on the surface, about 10-14 minutes. They will fall slightly when you take them out of the oven, which gives them a great fudgy texture on the inside.

The cookies will still be soft. Let the cookies sit for 2-3 minutes on the baking sheet before removing them to a wire rack to cool completely.

It is absolutely essential that you enjoy these with some milk! 🙂 Enjoy!


7 responses to “Big Ole M&M Cookies: Week 4 in 10 Weeks of Cookies

  1. these look awesome! I love that there is actually only 1 cup of gf flour. We are definitely making these. Thanks for another great recipe! =0)

  2. oh, one other question….any thoughts on subbing some of the sugar for brown sugar? Thanks. =0Kelly

  3. kelly,
    You could probably sub brown sugar, but just keep in mind that brown sugar adds a little more moisture. I would think it would be fine though. In a lot of my cookie recipes I use 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar and it works. If you give it a try, let me know.

  4. I will. For my regular tollhouse cookie recipe I use my mock better batter flour mix and then for the sugar I use 1/2 cup white and 1 cup brown. It makes for a softer cookie. I’ll let ya know. =0)

  5. Yeah, I usually do the 1/2 and 1/2 ratio. All white sugar tends to make a crunchy cookie and a mixture seems to lend a more soft texture that we like. These cookies were actually pretty soft though with the white sugar. So i’ll be interested to hear how yours turn out. have a great day!

  6. Is it not necessary to sift the dry ingredients first?

  7. No it’s not necessary to sift in this recipe. Just mix well after adding.

Leave a Reply

