Salmon Croquettes with Spicy Remoulade Sauce (Gluten Free)

You will like these.  Wait, I mean, you will LOVE these. I make these at least twice a month, sometimes once a week.  They are sooooooo flavorful and so good for you. Did I mention easy?  Yeah, that too.  And cheap.

Ever have trouble getting your family to eat fish?  Or maybe you are like me and you want to feed your family healthy fish but can’t afford to buy fresh fish fillets?

Then this if for you.  And if you think your kids won’t eat it, try it and I think you might be surprised.  Even people who “don’t like fish” have enjoyed these.

Do you like crab cakes?  It’s basically the same thing, but with salmon.  Mmmmmmmmmm…

Ok, the recipe:

Ingredients

2  6 oz packages boneless skinless salmon (you will find this near the canned tuna)

2 large eggs

1/2 cup chopped fresh spinach (this doesn’t add a ton of spinach flavor, but it adds great color and nutrition)

2 TBSP mayo

1 TBSP mustard (i have used regular and dijon. Use whatever you have)

1/2 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp season salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 cup breadcrumbs (gluten free if necessary)

2 TBSP olive oil

DIRECTIONS:

Place all ingredients except breadcrumbs into a bowl and combine well with a fork. Add 1/2 cup of the breadcrumbs and combine.   Reserve the other 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs in a shallow bowl or pie plate.

Heat olive oil in large pan on medium heat.

Take handfulls of the salmon mixture and form into balls (probably about 1/3 cup).  Roll gently in the reserved breadcrumbs and then pat slightly into a patty that is about an inch thick.  Place these into the hot oil and saute for about 3 minutes. 

Flip and saute another 3 minutes until golden brown. 

Remove to a plate to cool slightly and cook remaining croquettes.  This made 8 croquettes for me.

*You can also do most of the prep work for this ahead of time. I often will make these up until the point of needing to cook them and store them on a plate covered in plastic wrap in the fridge until dinner time.  Then all i have to do is heat the oil and cook.

My kids love to dip these in ketchup.  My husband and I like this homemade spicy remoulade sauce.

Spicy Remoulade Sauce

1/3 cup mayo (light is fine)

1 TBSP dijon mustard (I have used plain and spicy)

2 TBSP Ketchup

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 1/2 TBSP hot sauce (We like Franks Red Hot)

Mix all ingredients together with a fork or whisk.  Serve with Salmon Croquettes.

13 responses to “Salmon Croquettes with Spicy Remoulade Sauce (Gluten Free)

  1. Fantastic recipe! The instant I read it I knew it was one that I wanted to share with friends and family so I forwarded your blog address to them with the Salmon Croquettes with Spicy Remoulade Sauce recipe. And yes, I agree. I did LOVE these. Unfortunately, I don’t live in an area where I can easily get fresh salmon so I go online at http://www.order-salmon.com/ and order it that way. Delivered right to my doorstep. Now I have a great recipe to use. Thank you!!
    Alyst Busher

  2. So glad you liked it. We didn’t have any leftovers tonight! 🙂 My kids were actually asking me to make another batch. It is so satisfying to feed them something healthy and have them asking for more.
    Thanks for the feedback.

  3. made this tonight!!! so yummy – and tyler hates fish! i even tried it in mini’s, small appetizer size and those were great too b/c the whole bite was crunchy!! thanks for the recipe!!

  4. Linds, so glad to hear y’all liked it. We seriously make these at least twice a month and sometimes more. i love watching my kids gobble them up. i’m gonna try doing mini’s too. Bet they would like those even more. good idea.

  5. Pingback: Cheesy Bacon-y Chicken (Gluten Free) « The Happy Tummy: A collection of recipes, pictures, and helpful cooking tips

  6. Bekah4321 your kids are lucky to have such a very smart and from what I’ve read they will benefit greatly not only in terms of their heart but also in terms of their school test scores.

    Have you read about these studies on the DHA in salmon? I came across several citations at http://www.buy-fish-oil.com/fish-oil-kids-children-babies-infants-supplements.php

    Here is one quote that is exciting and worth sharing:
    School children given daily fish oil score higher in tests.
    “[Y]oungsters dramatically boosted their performance simply by taking a daily dose of oil. . . The youngsters were given the omega-3 fish oil containing fatty acids EPA and DHA, believed to be important for brain and eye function. Head Richard Whitfield [Toft Hill Primary School in Bishop Auckland, County Durham, United Kingdom] said: ‘I think the supplement gives children that little extra bit of confidence and concentration and it’s all about giving them the chance to achieve their potential.’ . . . In the national Standard Assessment Tests taken in July, 78 per cent of the youngsters were expected to hit the national average grade in math. But the result was a staggering 92 per cent, with half the pupils passing at the highest grade. In English 68 per cent were predicted to reach the average, but the result was 92 per cent.”
    Linda
    Thousand Oaks, CA

  7. What an informative blog. Your blog is not just informative but also very engaging and creative too.

    I found your site a hours ago and have read it all. I have forwarded it to zillions of friends.

    Will drop back in a while to see what other wise words and pearls of wisdom you can share.

    Truth be told, there are only few people who can create good articles that are also engaging and creative. I keep searching for information on this topic and you’ve done a terrific job of presenting here. Write on!
    Price

  8. Thank you for this excellent recipe. Wow! I agree with Alyst. Fantastic recipe! Thank you, thank you, thank you. I noticed that you used olive oil instead of extra virgin olive oil. Is there any difference in the health properties of olive oil vs. extra virgin olive oil? I came across this quote by Nicholas Perricone that I found at http://www.buy-extra-virgin-olive-oil.com I was wondering what you thought about it and whether you recommend olive oil or extra virgin olive oil.

    “Extra virgin olive oil is one of the most powerful anti-inflammatory foods in existence. Though I cannot promise you an equally long life span [as the olive tree’s life span], I can assure you that you will look younger, think more clearly, be more active and, yes, extend your life if you incorporate extra virgin olive oil into your diet on a daily basis.”

    Any recommendations of one over the other?
    Marsha Denman
    Moorpark, CA

  9. Marsha,
    Here is a link I have found that explains the different types of olive oil. I generally use extra virgin olive oil in my recipes.
    http://whatscookingamerica.net/OliveOil.htm

  10. yum yum! the sauce is perfect!!! i HATE mayonnaise so finding a well-balanced sauce is difficult. this one rocks! thanks for sharing!

  11. Glad you enjoyed it, Jay. 🙂

  12. Rebekah,
    You are very kind. Thank you.
    Marsha Denman
    Moorpark, CA

  13. These were THE BEST salmon croquettes I have EVER had – even before I had to go gluten free!!!! I smashed gluten free crackers in place of thf bread crumbs and they were fantastic!!!! The sauce was just as great as the croquettes. Amazing!!!!! Thank you!

Leave a comment