Eggnog Meltaways: Week 3 in 10 weeks of Cookies

Ok, first of all, I know I am terribly behind on this 10 weeks of Christmas cookies thing that I started. I’m sorry. I may have bitten off a bit more than I can chew lately and I have been feeling badly that I haven’t followed through with this. But, I plan to catch up because I HAVE been making cookies. I just haven’t been posting. So, here is the start to my catch up efforts. I’m going to have several posts back to back.

Yesterday, while in the grocery store, I saw eggnog on the shelves. I decided to pick some up and find a fun way to use it… apart from just drinking it with whipped cream and a sprinkle of nutmeg and cinnamon. Mmmmmm. If you don’t like eggnog, don’t give up on me yet. This cookie is actually so mildly flavored that I don’t think you would know it even had eggnog in the ingredient list unless I told you.

These are really good. They have a very tender texture and, like the name implies, kinda melt-away in your mouth. My kids and hubby and even my parents really liked them. I made them gluten free by using sorghum flour instead of the all purpose flour the recipe called for.

Give them a try and let me know what you think. Oh and I think they are really pretty. Kinda look like little snow balls. Fun.

Eggnog Meltaways (original recipe found Here)

Ingredients:

  • 1 3/4 cups all purpose flour (I used sorghum flour to make these gluten free but you could probably use rice flour or a blend of flours if you prefer)
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 Tbsp rum
  • 1/4 cup eggnog
  • 1 cup powdered sugar, for rolling (I found that this was too much. I think about 1/2 cup is plenty)

Directions:

In a medium bow, whisk together the flour, cornstarch, and salt.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar. Beat in the rum and eggnog.

Add in the flour mixture gradually until well-combined. Cover and refrigerate the dough an hour or until firm (I was impatient so I put mine in the freezer for about 20 min).

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line two baking sheets with parchment paper. Roll the dough into 1″ balls and place on the baking sheets about 1″ apart.

Bake 12-14 minutes. Remove to a wire rack to cool about 5 minutes before rolling the cookies in the sugar. Makes about 3 dozen cookies (maybe I made mine a little bigger, but I ended up with 24 cookies).

One response to “Eggnog Meltaways: Week 3 in 10 weeks of Cookies

  1. These look amazing. I’m going to have to try them for the holidays.

Leave a Reply

