Week 2 of 10 weeks of GF Cookies: Chewy, Coconut Cookies

My friend, Cassie, was one of the first people to submit a recipe for me to feature. She won my heart as soon as I saw coconut, which is one of my very favorite ingredients.

These were easy to make GF.  I just changed the flours up a bit and Tada! A chewy, delicious, golden brown coconut cookie. I also took her suggestion and did something really naughty… I dipped some of them in dark chocolate. Oh yes, I did, and oh my, they are good.

Chewy, Coconut Cookies (Gluten Free or Regular)

INGREDIENTS:

1 1/4 cups flour (I used 1/2 cup sweet sorghum flour, 1/2 cup tapioca flour, and 1/4 cup white rice flour) (Use all purpose if you don’t need GF)

1 tsp xanthan gum (omit if you don’t need GF)

1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 cups flaked coconut
Directions
1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C.) Combine the flour, baking soda, and salt; set aside.
2.In a medium bowl, cream the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg and vanilla until light and fluffy. Gradually blend in the flour mixture, then mix in the coconut. Drop dough by teaspoonfuls onto an ungreased cookie sheet (I put them on parchment paper). Cookies should be about 2 inches apart.
3.Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven, or until golden brown and slightly firm to the touch. Cool on wire racks.

And then, if you are really wanting something delicious, dip them in melted dark chocolate… and even sprinkle a little extra flaked coconut on top of that. They make a beautiful presentation.

Hope you enjoy these!

Leave a Reply

