10 Weeks of Cookies… Starting with Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Looking at the calendar this morning I realized that there are 10 weeks until Christmas. No, that does not mean I am not going to first celebrate Halloween and Thanksgiving. It is just a reference point for me as I look forward to the celebration of my Savior’s birth. December  is also a month of celebrations for our family as my oldest has his 6th birthday and my husband and I celebrate 7 years of marriage on Dec. 21st. We like to party the whole month. 🙂

Anyway, I baked a batch of delicious cookies this morning and got to thinkin’… why don’t I feature a cookie recipe every single week until Christmas?  So, here is to a new series here on The Happy Tummy called 10 Weeks of Cookies!  They will all be gluten free (of course!) with directions on how to make them regular as well. I welcome your suggestions for recipes or cookies you would like to see made GF. I will not be making up all new recipes. Some of them will be new, others will be ones I have found on blogs, and others will be recipes I have adapted and changed to my liking. It should be fun!

To kick things off, since it is October and pumpkins are everywhere, I decided to do a pumpkin cookie. I found the original recipe from Kirby’s Cravings. He posted a pic to foodgawker and I followed the link to his blog. The recipe is great! The only modification I had to make was to use a GF flour blend. I used Pamela’s Baking Mix because that is what I had on hand. I left everything else exactly the same, including the baking powder (even though Pamela’s has some in it).

You will enjoy these. The pumpkin flavor is very subtle but delightful. They are buttery and soft. There is just the right amount of cinnamon and ginger and allspice. They really are good. My kids loved them. I’ll be serving them tonight to some guests and I am certain they will enjoy them also.

Forgive me for not including a picture. I will update the post as soon as I retrieve my camera from my Mom’s house. oops! Trust me, they are good.

Pumpkin Snickerdoodles (Gluten Free or Regular)

recipe from (Kirby’s Cravings who got it from Recipe Girl)

Ingredients

2 sticks butter (1 cup), at room temperature
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
3/4 cup pure pumpkin puree
1 large egg
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
3 3/4 cups GF Flour Blend (I used Pamelas Baking Mix. Just make sure you use one with xanthan gum or you will need to add 1 tsp yourself) (if you don’t need GF, just use all purpose flour)
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

ROLLING SUGAR:
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp allspice

Directions

1. In a large bowl, cream butter with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add sugar and pumpkin puree and beat well. Mix in egg and vanilla, scraping down sides of the bowl to incorporate all of the ingredients.

2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, salt and ground cinnamon. Beat flour mixture into liquid mixture a little at a time until incorporated.

3. Cover dough with plastic and chill at least an hour, or until dough becomes slightly firm.

4. When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350°F. Line baking sheets with parchment paper. Mix rolling sugar in a small bowl.

5. Remove cookie dough from refrigerator. Use a medium cookie scoop (1 1/2 Tbsp.) or a large spoon to scoop out dough and roll into balls about 1 inch in diameter. Use your hands to roll the balls in the cinnamon sugar and make sure they’re coated really well. Place 2 inches apart on the prepared baking sheets.  Use a glass with a flat round bottom to dip in sugar and flatten the balls, into flat circles.

6. Bake at 350°F. for 10 to 14 minutes, or until they are slightly firm to the touch. Let cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes or so, then remove them to a wire rack to cool completely.

Enjoy!!!

2 responses to “10 Weeks of Cookies… Starting with Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

  1. What a great idea – 10 weeks of cookies. My family will love it!

  2. We seem to be on a cookie kick too. I may have to add these to our list to try. We love snickerdoodles and have been using a lot of different squashes this season, especially pumpkin. It will be fun to see what other cookies you pick for your countdown.

Leave a Reply

