Orange Cream Cupcakes (Gluten Free)

I recently saw a recipe on a food blog for Orange Cream Cupcakes.  They sounded so good to me so I decided to experiment and make some gluten free ones. I had several of Betty Crocker’s GF yellow cake mixes in my pantry that I needed to use. As an aside, I think made as the box directs, these are pretty bad. The texture of them reminds me of cornbread… dry, crumbly, and somewhat bland.  Sure, adding some tasty frosting helps, but I wanted a GOOD cupcake. Moist, tender, and full of flavor. So, I decided to doctor up the mix. I started by putting in the water, butter, and eggs that the box called for.  Then, I knew from making them plain that they needed some moisture. So, I added in 4 TBSP of Greek Yogurt. You could use regular yogurt but I would do 3 TBSP instead b/c it had more liquid in it.  And I wanted these to be orange-y so I added the zest of one BIG orange and all of the juice from that orange, which I think was about 1/3 cup.  Then, into the oven they went. Now the box says it makes 12 cupcakes. I ended up with 15.

They rose beautifully and came out with fantastic flavor. No cornbread here! Just yummy orange cream cupcakes! I made a traditional buttercream frosting and then added the juice of another orange to it.  So good. The people I made them for loved them!

Orange Cream Cupcakes

1 Gluten Free Betty Crocker Yellow Cake Mix

Butter, eggs, and water as called for on the box

1 large orange (zest and juice)

4 TBSP Greek Yogurt (or 3 TBSP of regular plain yogurt)

Mix everything together and bake at 350 for about 12-15 min or until lightly golden brown and slightly firm to the touch.

Top with your favorite icing or enjoy plain! Hope you enjoy!

3 responses to “Orange Cream Cupcakes (Gluten Free)

  1. What a great little blog you have here! We are a gluten and casein free family and I stumbled onto your site by hunting down recipes for GF apple fritters for a friend. Keep up the great work and I can’t wait to try some of your recipes!

  2. Pam,
    Hope you enjoy looking around. Let me know if there is anything I can do to help you. I have a few other friends who need GF and CF recipes so I’m thinking about starting to re-work some of the recipes here to be fitting for those needs.

  3. Christine W.G.

    Love that I found this blog while searching for a GF Cream of Chicken soup recipe. What a great recipe for a twist on the traditional yellow cupcake…can’t wait to make them! What’s your recipe for your buttercream icing? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

