Blueberry Crumb Bars (Gluten Free)

DISCLAIMER:  I know this picture is bad. . . very bad in fact. But it is the best i could do since my camera died. 😦  The alternative was to withhold this delicious recipe from you until I could obtain a camera, and that seemed very sad to me. So, I used my phone and did the best I could.

Now, on to more important things.  It’s time to use up those summer berries you have. Blueberries in particular are in season so grab some and make this soon. It is delicious.

I needed to make something for a men’s Bible study that was being held at our house tonight and thought these sounded good to try. I found the original recipe on “Smitten Kitchen“.  If you don’t need these Gluten Free then just jump on over to her page for her recipe.  You’ll be glad you did. She has fabulous pictures too!

I actually made these into “Mixed Berry Crumb Bars”  because I had 2 cups of blueberries (rather than 4 cups like the recipe requires) and a bunch of fresh strawberries. So, I just used both. I think you could make these with raspberries or blackberries also and have great, flavorful results.

Oh, and these are SUPER easy. I promise. 🙂

So, here we go.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

INGREDIENTS:

1 cup white sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder

1 tsp xanthan gum

3 cups GF flour (I used 1  1/2 cups finely ground white rice flour and 1 1/2 cups tapioca flour)

1 cup cold unsalted butter (2 sticks or 8 ounces)
1 egg
1/4 teaspoon salt
Zest and juice of one lemon
4 cups fresh blueberries (or berries of your choice)
1/2 cup white sugar
4 teaspoons cornstarch

DIRECTIONS:

1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C). Line a 9×13 pan with parchment paper.  I find that this is SOOOOO helpful in being able to easily remove the bars.

2. In a medium bowl, stir together 1 cup sugar, 3 cups GF flour, xanthan gum and baking powder. Mix in salt and lemon zest. Use a fork or pastry cutter to blend in the butter and egg. Dough will be crumbly. Pat half of dough into the prepared pan.

3. In another bowl, stir together the sugar, cornstarch and lemon juice. Gently mix in the blueberries. Sprinkle the blueberry mixture evenly over the crust. Crumble remaining dough over the berry layer.

4. Bake in preheated oven for 45 -55 minutes, or until top is slightly brown. Cool completely before cutting into squares.  I actually let mine cool for about 30 min and then put them in the fridge for an hour. They were very easy to cut into nice even bars.

Enjoy! 🙂

5 responses to “Blueberry Crumb Bars (Gluten Free)

  1. These look great. I have a ton of frozen blueberries. (awesome sale a couple of weeks ago0 Would you change any thing if using frozen other than possibly, thawing and draining the juice? Thanks for the recipe. =0)

  2. Actually, I used frozen blueberries, too, Kelly. Should have included that in the post. They worked great. The strawberries I had were not frozen but for sure frozen ones are fine. You don’t need to thaw or drain them at all. Just throw them in the cornstarch/sugar/lemon juice and then add them over the crust. Hope y’all enjoy them!

  3. good to know…I have a lot of those. thanks for the recipe. I’ll let ya know how they turn out. =0)

    ps still loving your pizza recipe.

  4. yummmyyy

  5. I love blueberries. I came across this and thought I would share it with you…

    Packed with antioxidant phytonutrients called anthocyanidins, blueberries neutralize free radical damage to the collagen matrix of cells and tissues that can lead to cataracts, glaucoma, varicose veins, hemorrhoids, peptic ulcers, heart disease and cancer. Anthocyanins, the blue-red pigments found in blueberries, improve the integrity of support structures in the veins and entire vascular system. Anthocyanins have been shown to enhance the effects of vitamin C, improve capillary integrity, and stabilize the collagen matrix (the ground substance of all body tissues). They work their protective magic by preventing free-radical damage, inhibiting enzymes from cleaving the collagen matrix, and directly cross-linking with collagen fibers to form a more stable collagen matrix.

    Jodi
    Thousand Oaks, CA

Leave a Reply

