Ultra Easy Coconut Chocolate Tarts (Gluten Free)

I knew when I saw this recipe that I would be trying it soon. I came across a blog called Ceramic Canvas, specifically this entry on Easy coconut chocolate tarts.  I think you should click that link right away. 🙂  They do such a beautiful description of these and their pictures are amazing. I don’t need to add much except that you should make these for sure. They are very easy (minus the little trouble I had removing the tart shells from the muffin tins) and require VERY few ingredients.  If you are like me and like coconut and chocolate you will be very pleased.  These are so cute too. I think they would be adorable to take to a brunch or shower or to serve for a nice dinner party.  I also think they would be fantastic with lemon curd in them instead of the chocolate.  I added an almond to the top of some of mine, trying to mimic the flavors of Almond Joys.  Definitely do that! I loved the nutty crunch on top. You will too.

Without further ado:

Ultra Easy Coconut Chocolate Tarts (Gluten Free)

1 egg white

7oz sweetened shredded flakes

2/3cup heavy cream

5oz quality dark chocolate, chopped

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350˚.

On a parchment lined baking sheet, spread coconut flakes out in one layer. Toast flakes in oven until they are just beginning to brown around the edges, about 8-10 minutes (be careful not to burn flakes).

Let coconut flakes cool slightly. In a small blender, pulse flakes until they’re finely ground. In a small bowl mix, coconut and egg whites until blended. With wet fingers, press about 1 rounded tablespoon of the coconut mixture into 2” wide muffin tin (mini-muffin pans).  Should make about 10 tarts.

Bake tart shells in preheated oven for 8-10 minutes or until the shells are just beginning to turn light golden brown.

Remove from oven and cool shells for about 5 minute and then carefully remove them from the tin on a wire rack and cool completely on a wire rack. I had a BIT of trouble getting these out while maintaining their cute little shape.  Gently sliding a butter knife around the sides of each one helped.  I wonder if freezing them in the pan for a bit would work to solidify them even more and make removing easier???

Meanwhile, place the cream in a saucepan over medium heat and heat until almost boiling. Remove cream from heat. Add the chocolate. Stir until chocolate has melted and the filling is smooth. I heated my cream in the microwave for the sake of ease. Worked just fine.

Pour the chocolate filling into the tart shells and place in the freezer for 10 minutes or until the filling has set.

I added a whole almond to the tops of a few of mine.  I also think some fresh berries would be great and oh so pretty on top of each one.

3 responses to “Ultra Easy Coconut Chocolate Tarts (Gluten Free)

  1. Thanks for the free sample!! You really cheered my heart with a little bit of chocolate love! 🙂

  2. dang nice info bro.

  3. These were great!!! I made some last night. I also adjusted it to be dairy free which was a little interesting. I would love to sit down with you some time & talk about your experiences & suggestions for gluten free & dairy free baking!

Leave a Reply

