Stuffed Bleu Cheese Potatoes (Gluten Free)

So good.  So so good. I made these for my husband tonight and he loved ’em! I was a little skeptical, only because I’m not all that crazy about bleu cheese.  But, these were wonderful, with just the slightest hint of blue cheese.  I’m not even sure you would be able to guess what you were tasting if you tried it without knowing the ingredient list.  I can pretty much guarantee your family will like these.  I am not going to write much more about them, because you can find great pics and step by step instructions on Our Best Bites.  I only made a few changes to the original recipe.  And if you haven’t looked around their site yet, you should.  I made 3 different things from them tonight and all were good.  I love their pictures and creative ingredient lists.

Stuffed Bleu Cheese Potatoes

Recipe from Our Best Bites

4 medium baking potatoes
½ Cup sour cream
1 oz (1/4 cup) crumbled bleu cheese
¼ Cup milk or buttermilk
4 Tbs real butter, cut into chunks
¾ tsp salt
Dash pepper
½ t garlic powder
8 pieces bacon, cooked crisp and crumbled
Grated cheddar cheese

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Wash and dry potatoes. Rub them lightly with a bit of shortening or vegetable oil (helps crisp the skin) and place directly on oven rack, or a cookie sheet. Bake for one hour or until potatoes are done. I actually cooked mine potatoes in the microwave to save energy and not heat my kitchen up for so long.  I think I microwaved for about 10 minutes.  The skin wasn’t quite as crispy as it would have been if I had done them in the oven, but I was fine with that.  Besides, you finish them in the oven anyway.

2. Cut each potato in half to make 8 servings. You may want to hold them with a potholder as they will still be hot!

3. Scoop out the insides and place in a bowl. Mash, and add butter, sour cream, bleu cheese, milk, salt, pepper, and garlic. Beat with a hand mixer until fluffy. Carefully spoon mixture back into potato shells. Place in a baking dish.

Put in hot oven (at 400) and bake for about 10-12 minutes.


4. Remove and sprinkle bacon and cheddar cheese over each potato.  Bake an additional 3-5 minutes or until cheese is melted and bubbly.

ENJOY!!!

Oh and my husband greatly enjoyed these dipped in a little spicy ranch dressing.  He just mixed some ranch with a tablespoon of Franks Hot Sauce.  YUMMY! 🙂

Leave a Reply

