Steak with Burgundy Mushroom Sauce (Gluten Free)

I found this recipe on the Pioneer Woman’s site and altered it a bit to fit the ingredients I had on hand. It was wonderful! The mushrooms are sauteed with onions and fresh garlic and then cooked in a red wine until it is reduced.  They soak up so much of the wine goodness and turn a deep purple/redish color.  It is beautiful.  You can really use any steak. We used Sirloins, only because that is what was on sale when I went to the grocery.  I’m not going to tell you how to cook your steak.  You can grill it, pan fry it, whatever.  Just simply season it with salt and pepper though and cook it how you like it.  You won’t need to do anything else to it because this sauce is AWESOME!  My picture doesn’t look that great, but trust me on this. . . Very, very tasty!

Steak with Mushroom Burgundy Sauce (Gluten Free)

*my changes are in italics

INGREDIENTS

  • 4 whole Steaks (sirloin, Ribeye, Etc.) We used Sirloins
  • ½ cups Butter (I used 1/2 cup olive oil because I was out of butter. . .but butter would have been GREAT)
  • 1 pound White Mushrooms, Sliced (I used 2 8ox packages that were pre-sliced)
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 3 whole Green Onions, Sliced (I used 1/2 a yellow onion, finely diced)
  • 1-½ cup Red Wine: Burgundy, Merlot, Cab, Etc.  (I used Merlot)
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter (I left this out and it was still good…but if you have the butter, GO FOR IT!)
  • Fresh Parsley, Minced, To Taste (Didn’t have any so just left it out)

DIRECTIONS:

In a large skillet (I used a cast iron skillet), melt butter over high heat. Throw in mushrooms, garlic, and green onions and cook, stirring occasionally until mushrooms are nice and golden. This took me about 6 minutes, over med high heat. Pour in wine and stir, scraping bottoms of the pan. Allow to cook for about 8-10 minutes or until liquid is reduced by at least half. At the end, add 1 tablespoon butter and stir into sauce. Add parsley and stir together. Don’t be afraid to splash in a little more wine if needed. 🙂

Cook your steak how you like it.

Spoon mushrooms sauce over the top. Serve and experience steak bliss! Mmmmmmmmmmm

Oh yeah, Pioneer Woman mentions that you could even serve this over hamburger steaks and I think it would be super!

Leave a Reply

