Easter Cupcakes (Gluten Free)

These turned out ADORABLE! The kids and I had so much fun making them together.  I found the ideas on the Betty Crocker website and just adapted a little.  Super easy!

I used a box caked mix (Betty Crocker GF) and canned icing for convenience.  I actually don’t love Betty Crocker’s GF cake mixes all that much.  They are kinda dry and the yellow cake reminds me of corn bread a bit. But, in a pinch they are helpful.  And I didn’t have the other flours I needed to make cupcakes from scratch.  So, oh well.  If I was making from scratch, I would have used this recipe that is wonderful. Definitely give it a try if you have the ingredients on hand. If you don’t need a GF cupcake, I would recommend this recipe for Vanilla cupcakes from the Joy of Baking.

To make Easter Chick Cupcakes:

INGREDIENTS:

one recipe of cupcakes (GF or regular) to make 24

one can of white/vanilla icing or a recipe of good buttercream icing here

2 1/2 cups shredded sweetened coconut

liquid yellow food coloring (about 8 drops)

48 chocolate chips (I used regular size but you could do mini if you want littler eyes)

orange gum drops

To assemble:

Place coconut in resealable food-storage plastic bag. Add about 8 drops yellow liquid food color; seal bag and shake to mix. Frost cupcakes with white frosting. Top with yellow coconut. For eyes, add brown baking bits/chocolate chips. Cut orange gumdrops to resemble beaks; place on cupcakes.

I put a tiny bit of frosting on each chocolate chip and the orange gum drop beak so that they would adhere to the coconut.  I found that without that they kept falling off when moved.

To make Easter Eggs in Grass Cupcakes:

0ne recipe cupcakes (GF or regular) to make 24

1 can of chocolate icing or  good chocolate frosting recipe here

2 1/2 cups shredded sweetened coconut

liquid green food coloring (8-10 drops)

1 bag of candy eggs (mine were Hershey’s I think)

To assemble:

Place coconut in resealable food-storage plastic bag. Add about 8-10 drops green liquid food color; seal bag and shake to mix. Frost cupcakes with chocolate frosting for “dirt”. Top with green coconut for grass. Place candy eggs on top of green coconut.

I put a tiny bit of frosting on each candy egg so that they would adhere to the coconut.  I found that without that they kept falling off.

Have fun making these with your kids!!! So festive and spring-y.

Hope you have a fabulous Easter celebrating the death and resurrection of our Savior, Jesus! He is risen indeed!!!

4 responses to “Easter Cupcakes (Gluten Free)

  1. so so cute!!! what an artist! your children are so blessed to have a mommy who loves to cook and celebrate holidays and who loves Jesus.

  2. I can’t taste them now! So cute. 😀

    What flours does the Betty Crocker GF have in it? I am on a very restrictive diet and can’t have grains or starches.

  3. Denise, nice to “meet” you. 🙂 the Betty Crocker mix has white rice flour and potato starch in it. It really is not all that good. . . grainy in texture and like i said in my post, kinda like cornbread. next time i will make my own. if you haven’t tried it, their brownie mix is good and I think it is rice flour, potato starch, and corn starch for the flours.

Leave a Reply

