Spiced Pumpkin Bread/Muffins (Gluten Free)

What is with the canned pumpkin shortage?!?  I mean, I am distressed that I can’t find any. I know it is not exactly pumpkin season, but usually you can get some at our grocery most of the year.  Not this year.   Thankfully, I happened to find a stray can in my mom’s pantry yesterday.

A friend of mine linked to this recipe on her Facebook page back in the fall and I decided to give it a try.  It is now a family favorite and everyone I have made it for LOVES it.  The texture is so so good, gluten free or regular.  I usually make it GF and no one ever knows.  Just tonight I made a batch for a bunch of men and they gobbled them up in record time.  I am thinking that next time we want some of these and I can’t find pumpkin, I am going to substitute pureed sweet potatoes.

You can make 2 loaves out of this recipe or about 24 muffins.  I usually do the muffins because they cook faster and my kids love to have them that way.  Plus, I will occasionally put a streusel topping on them that just adds to their yummyness.  Today I just made the muffins and sprinkled the tops with granulated sugar before baking.  So good.

Spiced Pumpkin Bread/Muffins (Gluten Free or Regular)

  • 3 cups  GF baking mix (I use Pamelas Baking Mix)  or all-purpose flour if you don’t need GF
  • 2  cups  sugar
  • 2  teaspoons  baking soda
  • 1  teaspoon  baking powder
  • 1  teaspoon  ground cinnamon
  • 1/2  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  ground cloves
  • 1/4  teaspoon  ground nutmeg
  • 2/3  cup  canola oil (I used melted butter)
  • 3  eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1  (15-ounce) can pumpkin
  • 1/2  cup  dried currants or raisins (optional. . . I leave them out)
  • 1 cup chopped pecans or walnut

Preheat oven to 350°.

Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next 7 ingredients (through nutmeg) in a large bowl; make a well in center of mixture. Combine canola oil (or butter), eggs, and pumpkin in a medium bowl; stir with a whisk until smooth. Add to flour mixture, stirring just until moist. Fold in currants and/or nuts.

Spoon batter into 2 (9 x 5-inch) loaf pans coated with cooking spray or 24 muffin tins lined with muffin papers and sprayed with cooking spray.

If making loaves, bake at 350° for 1 hour or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool loaves in pans 10 minutes on a wire rack; remove from pans. Cool loaves completely.

If making muffins bake at 350 about 15-20 min or until toothpick inserted in center comes out mostly clean.  Cool and serve.

Leave a Reply

