Vegetable (Beef) Soup

This is my go-to soup recipe when I want to get lots of good veggies in my family.  It is really yummy and I can have the whole big pot made in about 20 min.  I’m not sure soup gets any easier than this.  I usually make it without any ground beef in it, but today I had some in the fridge so I added it. My family likes it either way.

Vegetable (Beef) Soup

This makes a BIG pot full.  I like to freeze about half of it for a quick meal another night.

Ingredients:

2 TBSP olive oil

1 large onion chopped

5 ribs of celery chopped

1 tsp minced garlic

1 16 oz bag frozen crinkle cut carrots

1  32 oz bag frozen mixed veggies

6 cups vegetable broth

2 cans petite diced tomatoes

1  29 oz can tomato sauce

2 bay leaves

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

1- 1 1/2 lbs lean ground beef (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Heat olive oil in large soup pot and saute onion, celery and minced garlic for 6-8 min.  Pour in all the frozen veggies (bag of crinkle cut carrots and mixed veggies) and add 6 cups of vegetable broth.  Pour in cans of petite diced tomatoes and tomato sauce.  Add bay leaves and seasonings. Stir to combine.  Bring to a simmer.  You can simmer for about 35 minutes until the vegetables are tender or you can bring it to a boil, turn it off, cover it with a lid and leave it for about 30 minutes.  I like to do the latter method because it uses less energy from my stove and it allows me to walk away and be done.  If you leave it much longer the vegetables will get mushy.  I am really picky about my veggies in soup.  I hate when they are over-done.  I like them to have a little crunch to them.  You can adjust the cooking time until the vegetables are the way you like them.

*If you want to add ground beef:  Brown your meat in a separate pan, rinse and drain it and then stir it into the soup.

This soup is even better the next day after the flavors have mingled more.  Mmmmmmmmmm…  And you will love watching your kids eat so many good vegetables.  So satisfying!

2 responses to “Vegetable (Beef) Soup

  1. So I made this tonight and it was soooooo good! I wish I had had this recipe at the beginning of fall to enjoy it through the whole cold season. I just used what I had on hand and it was great. I also made it with the pizza breadsticks (and then made some with cinnamon/sugar for dessert!) keep ’em comin’!

  2. so glad you liked it! Yes, I love that this can be made and adapted to what you have on hand. Sometimes I throw some great northern or kidney beans in, extra corn, or even potatoes or rice.
    mmmmmmmm…i’m wishing I had one of those cinnamon /sugar breadsticks right now.

Leave a Reply

