Apple Fritters (Gluten Free)

I have a confession to make.  I have been frying dough in this house.  I know it is not on my diet to be frying, but you gotta splurge a little, right?  🙂    Isaiah asked me the other day if we could try making donuts.  With my recent yeasty pizza dough success, I thought, “why not!??”  Plus, a new blogging friend, Kelly, posted about making GF cake donuts the other day and that got me thinking about if yeasty donuts could be made GF.  I love a challenge so, yesterday it was donuts.

They were good.  Very good, in fact.  But the texture was not exactly what I wanted, in that it reminded me more of a fritter consistency than Krispy Kreme.  (I should note that my family LOVED them and didn’t think they needed any improvement at all.  I am a bit of a perfectionist).  That thought (the one about the fritters) lodged in my brain and this morning I decided that I simply MUST try making the dough into apple fritters.  Boy am I glad for that brainstorm! Tonight more frying took place and I cannot believe how good they were.

Isaiah insisted that we put holes in a few of the fritters because he said he likes them better that way.

Little baby fritters. 🙂

these are the fritters before I glazed them.  See those pretty apple pieces?

You need to give these a try sometime soon.  Your tummy will thank you (your waist line might not. . HA!). The texture was great.  They rose really well.  The apple pieces scattered throughout each one provided great textural contrast.  They really were a hit all around and reminded me so much of the apple fritters we used to stop and get on our way to my aunt’s mountain house in North Carolina.  I will not be making these very often because they are TOO good.

Apple Fritters (Gluten Free)

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 cup tapioca flour

1/2 cup white rice flour (don’t use brown. . . you will get a more gritty texture if you do)

2/3 cup corn starch (I think you could probably sub potato starch if you are corn free)

1 teaspoon xanthan gum

1/2  teaspoon salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup whole milk

1/4 cup water

2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast, from 1 (1/4-ounce) package

1/3 cup sugar

2 large egg whites, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large apple, finely diced

Vegetable oil for frying

DIRECTIONS:

In bowl of electric mixer, whisk together tapioca flour, white rice flour, corn starch,  xanthum gum, cinnamon, and salt.

Combine milk  and 1/4 cup water and heat in microwave until warm but not hot to the touch, about 45 sec -1 minute (the mixture should register between 105°F and 115° F on candy thermometer). Stir in yeast and sugar. Let proof for about 5 minutes. You should see a nice foamy top, indicating that the yeast is active.  Add milk–yeast mixture, egg whites, and 2 tablespoons oil to dry ingredients and beat at medium speed, scraping bowl occasionally, until dough is very smooth and very thick, about 5 minutes.  The dough will still be pretty sticky which is ok. Stir in the diced apple pieces.

Turn the dough out onto a surface dusted with tapioca flour and generously dust the dough as well so it is easier to handle.  Pat into a large circle, about 1/2 inch thick.  Using a biscuit cutter, cut out circles.  Place them on parchment paper.  Loosely cover with plastic wrap and set in a warm place to rise for about 25 minutes.  I warm my oven to about 150 and then turn it off.  Then I put the pan of fritters in there to rise.

Heat about 4 inches of vegetable oil in a small heavy saucepan.  You want the dough around 360 degrees.  I don’t have a thermometer so I just guessed and adjusted as I went.  Gently lower a fritter into the oil and allow it to brown on one side, probably about a minute.  Flip it over and allow the other side to cook.  I would sample this first one to make sure it is completely cooked internally. If you find that your fritters are browning darkly on the outside and are not completely done in the middle, lower your temperature.  Remove to a plate or pan lined with paper towels.  While still warm, cover in glaze.   Repeat with remaining fritters.

Glaze:

1 cup confectioners sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
enough hot water to make a thin glaze

Whisk together until no lumps remain.

Enjoy with a tall glass of cold milk!! or maybe a hot cup of coffee. mmmmmmm….

28 responses to “Apple Fritters (Gluten Free)

  1. WOW Thank you for posting this recipe! My young son has celiacs and he has not had a donut(his absolute favorite treat) in a very long time. We are going to try these tonight and will tell you how they turned out. Thanks again,

  2. I hope they turned out well for you. I have recently found a cake donut recipe that i like even more than these yeasty ones. it’s great b/c it uses baking powder rather than yeast so you don’t have to let it rise. Will be posting it soon so check back so you don’t miss it. The texture is amazing! Just like a dunkin donuts munchkin.

    • Hi, wondering if you have posted the “dunkin donut like” recipe online? Would love to try them for my girls.

  3. Delana, So sorry for having overlooked posting that recipe! am posting two recipes this afternoon, with pics. One regular cake donuts (like the munchkins from Dunkin donuts) and one pumpkin spice cake donuts. Definitely give them a try soon and let me know what you think. Thanks for the reminder! 😉

  4. We made these as an afternoon treat and I was thrilled by how beautifully they turned out! Doughy, not too sweet, crunchy bits covered in glaze…oh my. Thank you for a great recipe!

  5. These look great! What would you suggest to use instead of whole milk? We have to avoid milk products also. Thanks!

  6. Christina, I think you would be fine with rice milk or almond milk. Soy milk would probably be good too. Report back if you try one of those and let us know how it worked. I’m sure others are in a similar position needing to avoid dairy.

  7. I’m SO thankful for this recipe and these photos…am planning to try it this weekend. Do you think it would be okay to add more cinnamon? Thank you for sharing this too. Apple Fritters are my favorite and I haven’t had one in sooooooo long. If you have any other recipes for breads of any kind that you have success with could you email me? I provided my email in order to post this so hopefully you have it? Sylvia

  8. in my opinion you can never have too much cinnamon, particularly when it comes to anything with apples. 🙂 Regarding other breads, I encourage you to try the pizza recipe on here. it is the best pizza recipe for GF folks. The dinner roll recipe is also fantastic. Let me know if there are other specifics you are looking for. happy to help. 🙂

  9. Thank you so much for this recipe. I made these tonight and they were fantastic!

  10. I dont see where you added in the apples. Did I miss something?

  11. End of second paragraph “stir in diced apples”

  12. lol so sorry I reread like 5 times

  13. No worries. Have totally done the same thing.

  14. Will it be less gritty if using Superfine Brown Rice Flour instead of regular brown rice flour?

  15. Tonight I attempted to make my first gluten free recipe from scratch and it was these fritters. They were delicious very comparable to our favorite donut shop. I made a couple of variations in the glaze though. As I am always forgetting vanilla at the grocery store I tried maple and some fresh squeezed orange juice instead of the vanilla and the water. It was delicious the neighbourhood kids all piled in and had a taste. Thanks for making what ap

  16. Stacey Wilkins

    Hi! I’m a 37 year old just diagnosed with celiac disease and as a cook, total food lover, I confess I’ve been depressed. But! I’ve been looking around (trying to find a dessert recipe to bing to a ladies dinner that I can eat!) and found this….I’ll try them today! Thanks for sharing I will be trying to find your other recipes too, you mentioned pizza dough?! Mmmm….

  17. Those look yummy! And I am not even gluten free!

  18. I am going to try it. I am gluten free. I am in fourth grade

  19. Krazy Cat Lover

    I bet my cats will even like it. My cats are Niko and Tiger. I luv Warriors by Erin Hunter. I know I will like it.

  20. Pingback: Gluten Free Apple Fritters - These are the best! Even my non-gluten free family couldnt tell the difference! Substitute the milk for buttermilk and the water (in the glaze) to apple cider. YUM! - Gluten Free Recipes and Food

  21. I made these today and they are really great. I am having them without the glaze and they are just delightful. I would highly recommend them to anyone in need of an easy to make sweet treat. Oh, I made mine with 2 whole small eggs instead of just eggs whites and they still turned out perfect.

  22. I know this post is a few years old, but hoping you’ll see this and reply. I don’t have individual fours. I use a gluten free flour mix (cup for cup to regular flour). Do you know if I could use that in this recipe?

  23. Sorry if I’ve missed it somewhere in the post, but roughly how many donuts does this make? Thanks!

  24. May I ask if there anything other than rice flour I can substitute?

Leave a Reply

