Gluten Free Breadsticks!!!

Oh.  My.  Goodness!  I have been wondering for a week now if more could be done with my pizza dough.  And let me tell you, there are POSSIBILITIES! I’m thinking many possibilities.  And one of them is breadsticks.

We wanted pizza tonight, but I decided to grab a little of the dough and attempt some breadsticks.  Really simple.  Just roll into long strips (just like you would make a “snake” with playdoh).  Then sprinkle with cheese, sesame seeds, italian seasonings, or brush with garlic butter. Then, bake.  Mine (I made 4) just baked on the pan next to my pizza.  I took them out a little earlier.  We then dipped them in warmed pizza sauce as an appetizer.

I actually felt bad that there weren’t any other gluten free people at my house to appreciate the wonder of eating a fabulous breadstick.  Really, I wish you were here to enjoy this with me.  My husband was seriously impressed, although he let me eat most of them. 😉  I think I ate 3 breadsticks and 2 small pieces of pizza.  I know that is a lot of bread, but it was so good and I was just so excited. If you have been deprived breads for very long you will know exactly what I am talking about.

The recipe is exactly the same as my pizza dough, but I will repost it here anyway.

Breadsticks (Gluten Free)

I don’t know how many breadsticks this could make.  I’m guessing maybe 15, about 4-5 inches long each.

If you don’t need GF breadsticks, just sub all purpose flour for all the flours listed and omit the xanthan gum. It should be 1 1/4 + 2/3 cup flour.

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 cup tapioca flour

1/2 cup white rice flour (don’t use brown. . . you will get a more gritty texture if you do)

1/3 cup corn starch

1/3 cup sorghum flour

1 teaspoon xanthan gum

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 tsp italian seasonings (optional)

1/2 cup whole milk

1/4 cup water

2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast, from 1 (1/4-ounce) package

2 teaspoons sugar

2 large egg whites, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons olive oil

DIRECTIONS:

In bowl of electric mixer, whisk together tapioca flour, white rice flour, corn starch, sorghum flour, xanthum gum, and salt.

Combine milk  and 1/4 cup water and heat in microwave until warm but not hot to the touch, about 45 sec -1 minute (the mixture should register between 105°F and 115° F on candy thermometer). Stir in yeast and sugar. Let proof for about 5 minutes. You should see a nice foamy top, indicating that the yeast is active.  Add milk–yeast mixture, egg whites, and 2 tablespoons oil to dry ingredients and beat at medium speed, scraping bowl occasionally, until dough is very smooth and very thick, about 5 minutes.  The dough will still be pretty sticky which is ok.

Preheat oven to 400°F. Put your baking sheet in the oven on the bottom rack to preheat.

Dust  parchment paper with tapioca flour. Also dust your dough lightly and your hands.  Pinch off small amounts of dough and roll into breadsticks, about 4-5 inches long and about 1/2 inch thick.  Place each on on your parchment paper.  I then spritzed mine with olive oil (you could brush it on too).  I topped each one with a sprinkling of sesame seeds and italian seasonings. You could do parmesan cheese, cheddar cheese, garlic butter, or I’m even thinking you could make these little dessert breadsticks by brushing with butter and then sprinkling with cinnamon and sugar.

Cover loosely with plastic wrap and set in a warm place to rise for 20 minutes. I put mine on top of the stove while the oven is preheating.  Works wonderfully!

After they have risen, bake in oven at 400 for about 10 minutes or until golden brown.  We served ours with warmed pizza sauce for dipping.  Fabulous!!!

Please try these and let me know how they turn out for you.  I am really eager to hear from some of you who are trying these recipes.  I admit that before starting this blog I would use peoples recipes ALL the time and never report back.  Now I understand how much fun it is to get feedback, suggestions, failures, etc in the comment sections.  And it helps other people know what changes can be successfully made and what things worked in your kitchen.

Enjoy!!

5 responses to “Gluten Free Breadsticks!!!

  1. ok, these look really yummy! =0) lovin’ your recipes and ideas!

  2. making these tonight to go with the veggie soup you posted. I’ll let ya know how it turns out.

  3. I just stumbled upon your pizza and now found your breadsticks. Will certainly be trying both recipes by the end of this weekend and will report back shortly after trying. I have made many pizzas from scratch and from mixes. your pizza browns nicely and the crust looks good. I prefer a pizza with a nice crust on the end, but a thinner crust under the cheese so I was thinking about rolling it out pretty thin and then making a long breadstick to roll around the whole pizza. I will let you know how it works out. I was recently diagnosed with celiac and I love pizza, but my real goal is to perfect the pizza so my 2 year old son also diagnosed with celiac will never have to get sick to enjoy an awesome pizza. Even better, I just found Estrella damm Daura (make sure it is the Daura) spanish gluten removed beer made with Barley that tastes just like real beer. Awesome. I think the American made Omission is similar, but will have to wait for a road trip to Oregon to find out.

    Cheers to all and thanks for the great looking recipes.

  4. The pizza recipe is fantastic. Since going gluten-free, I’ve tried about 15 different recipes. This is by far the best one. I’m trying out the breadsticks right now. The dough was too sticky to pinch off pieces, but I’m still hoping they turn out great.
    Thank you for the wonderful recipe!

Leave a Reply

