Perfect Gluten Free PIZZA!!!

My quest is over.  And I am a happy girl.  I have been searching for a GOOD gluten free pizza dough recipe for 6 years. I have tried more than I can count. I have ordered from specialty shops, scoured blogs, had some terrible pizza, some OK pizza, and finally, a FANTASTIC pizza.

This is one of those recipes that made me so happy I wanted to shout it from the rooftops. I wanted to get on a plane and fly to Texas to make it for my sweet sister-in-law who has Celiac.  Can you tell how excited I am?  Seriously, if I had an extra kitchen, I would start selling these par-baked so that other people could purchase them and have yummy pizza too.  But, since I don’t, maybe those of you who read this post will make it and have the same glorious pizza experience that we had tonight in our house.

The texture is outstanding (does not even compare to anything I have had before in the GF pizza world). The crust bubbles up and is chewy.  The bottom is crispy like it supposed to be.  It is yeasty and . . . PERFECT.

Credit for this goes to someone on Epicurious. I took a recipe there and subbed corn starch for chick-pea flour (I don’t like the taste) and added some salt.  Next time I might also add some Italian seasonings to the dough.

Warning: This did take me a while.  I am not sure if it was because there were little people hanging on my legs and begging and pleading for the pizza to be ready, or if it is a long recipe. Either way it is worth it. If WHEN I make this again, I will double and maybe triple it to have some to put in my freezer for another time. It is that good.

Perfect Gluten Free Pizza

Makes 2  10 inch pizzas. . . can feed two very hungry adults or 4 moderately hungry people.  It fed our family of 5 plenty and we still had 2 pieces left over.

INGREDIENTS:

3/4 cup tapioca flour

1/2 cup white rice flour (don’t use brown. . . you will get a more gritty texture if you do)

1/3 cup corn starch

1/3 cup sorghum flour

1 teaspoon xanthan gum

1 1/2 teaspoons salt

1 tsp italian seasonings (optional)

1/2 cup whole milk

1/4 cup water

2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast, from 1 (1/4-ounce) package

2 teaspoons sugar

2 large egg whites, lightly beaten

2 tablespoons olive oil + plus more to use on your hands when handling the dough

Whatever sauce (I used store bought), toppings, and cheese you like

DIRECTIONS:

In bowl of electric mixer, whisk together tapioca flour, white rice flour, corn starch, sorghum flour, xanthum gum, and salt.

Combine milk  and 1/4 cup water and heat in microwave until warm but not hot to the touch, about 45 sec -1 minute (the mixture should register between 105°F and 115° F on candy thermometer). Stir in yeast and sugar. Let proof for about 5 minutes. You should see a nice foamy top, indicating that the yeast is active.  Add milk–yeast mixture, egg whites, and 2 tablespoons oil to dry ingredients and beat at medium speed, scraping bowl occasionally, until dough is very smooth and very thick, about 5 minutes.  The dough will still be pretty sticky which is ok.

Preheat oven to 400°F. Put your baking sheet in the oven on the bottom rack to preheat.

Have ready two 12-inch squares parchment paper, dusted with white rice flour.  Scrape half of dough onto each square and form each half into a ball.

This is what it should look like:

Coat each ball with 2 teaspoons oil, then use oiled fingertips to pat and stretch each ball into 9-inch-diameter round, 1/4 inch thick, with a 1/2-inch-thick border.

UPDATE: This is a very sticky dough. You may not actually form a ball, but rather have 2 heaps of the dough. I have tried two methods to get this dough spread out in the circles:  1) The one described above using oil to pat and stretch the dough  is somewhat difficult but don’t give up. You can use a bit of flour on it as well if needed. 2)  I also tried just liberally dusting the dough with rice flour and/or tapioca flour.  It made it MUCH easier to work with BUT (and this is very important!!!) it didn’t rise as well. I think the extra flour weighed the dough down too much.  So, perhaps try a combination of a bit of oil and a bit of flour.  That seems to be the compromise and has worked well for me.

**SECOND UPDATE: I made this pizza today and did not let it rise, curious if it would rise well in the oven without a previous rising on the counter. It rose WONDERFULLY.  no more waiting for it to rise. Just pat it out the way you like it (using oil and as little flour as possible on your hands) and put it on the bottom rack of your preheated oven. Amazing. So excited because this means I can have pizza ready from start to finish in such a short amount of time. **

Loosely cover rounds with plastic wrap and let rise in warm draft-free place until each pizza is about 10 inches in diameter, about 20 minutes. I let mine rise on top of the stove.  The subtle heat from the oven while it is preheating was perfect for helping my dough rise.

Transfer crusts with parchment to preheated pizza stone or baking sheet and bake on bottom rack about 5 minutes, until dough is slightly firm to the touch.  You will notice your dough getting nice and bubbly, but not yet brown at all.

(If you want to freeze pizza for later, now is the time to do it.  Let the crust cool now and then top with your sauce, toppings, and cheese.  Wrap well with plastic wrap and freeze for another time.  When you are ready to bake these, let them sit out for about 15-20 minutes to partially thaw, preheat oven to 400 and bake for 10-15 minutes on the bottom rack until nicely browned.)

Remove from the oven and gently slide the parchment paper out from under each crust so that the crust is now directly on your baking sheet.  (It won’t stick now that it is partially baked.  Top with your sauce and desired toppings.  We used red peppers, onions, baby spinach, spicy sausage and turkey pepperoni but by all means, use whatever your family likes.

(this is right before I added my cheese)

Bake on the bottom rack for about 10 minutes until cheese is melted and your crust is wonderfully browned.  Cool for about 5 minutes and then serve!

41 responses to “Perfect Gluten Free PIZZA!!!

  1. This pizza looks amazing. I have many recipes that are my “go to” recipes but the pizza one still eludes me after many many recipes! We try to avoid corn (ie cornstarch) do you think I could substitute arrowroot or potato starch? Thanks so much for sharing this! I am trying this this week for sure! Kelly

  2. Kelly, YES use potato starch. I think it would work great and I may actually try that next time too. They have a similar consistency so should yield very similar results. Let me know how it turns out. I really really think you will LOVE this.

  3. Great! I will try the potato starch and let you know. Thanks. Kelly

  4. awesome. thanks for sharing that. your pics of that bread completely motivate me to make it this week. I can’t wait to try it. Very exciting.

  5. My daughter loves this pizza. I am having problems with the wetness of the dough. The 2nd time I made it, I decreased the water to 1/8 cup, but my dough was too soft to form into a ball. The humidity in my house is not high so that is not the problem. I want mine to look like yours. Yummy!!
    Thank you

  6. Sue,
    Thanks for the comments/feedback. The dough is pretty wet. I’ll take a picture of mine next week when I make it and post how it looks throughout the mixing process. I actually gave up on the forming of the ball. I just spoon the dough onto my floured parchment paper in a mound, dust it liberally with tapioca flour, and then start patting and spreading. If needed, i re-dust with flour. The original recipe says to use oil on the dough and your hands but I found that flour is easier and that the oil actually contributes to more wetness. I need to update the recipe to include these ideas. try them and see how it works for you. is your dough rising well? keep me posted.

  7. Thank you for offering to take pictures. That will greatly help me .

  8. Hi! Wow this look Sooo goood! Yumm!
    I was wondering if i can use the gluten free all purpose flour instead of individual flours, since it has almost the same flours..Thanks!

  9. Chey, what all purpose flour blend would you be using? I have used Pamelas and it didn’t work well. I also tried Bobs Red Mill and didn’t like the texture near as much as the individual flours mixed myself. I think the ratio of flours to starches must be different in the store bought blends. You can certainly give it a try, but i HIGHLY recommend at some point buying the individual flours and trying it that way. It really is delicious. Let us know your results either way.

  10. For a ready made, already cooked crust, order from the Gluten Free Creations Bakery in Phoenix, AZ. http://www.GlutenFreeCreations.com.
    Very good taste and excellent texture. Their breads are the best, muffins and cookies are moist and yummy. But, the bagels and pizza crusts are out of this world. Try i!

  11. Michele Colbert

    Hi-I got your site address from my friend and coworker Cassie from FIBWS. This pizza dough looks great! I have been looking for a good one too. I just have a suggestion for forming a sticky dough. It seems crazy, but if you wet your fingers with water instead of oil or flour you will have an easier time handling it. I do that when I pat down scone dough and it works perfectly.
    Thanks for the great looking recipe!

    • Your recipe is definitely the best! The dough is hard to handle even with the wet fingers. The second time I tried heating the milk & water to boiling and then adding the tapioca flour, thinking that it would thicken some before mixing in the rest of the ingredients and baking. Although it was easier to handle, it didn’t taste as good as the original way. I’m going to try the wet spoon next time. Since I’m the only GF person in my family I prebaked the extra crust and wrapped it onto a cardboard cake circle to freeze for the next pizza craving.

      • Yes, I am going to try the wet spoon too. I bet that would be helpful. Bottom line though is that the work involved in dealing with the sticky dough is well worth the yummy results. Agreed? 🙂 After so so many bad pizza crusts, I will gladly get all sticky to end up with a tasty pizza in the end.
        Michele, I am excited to hear how your frozen one turns out. I have been meaning to do that every time but we end up eating it all. Even though I am the only GF person in my family, everyone loves this pizza and it just seems easier than making a separate gluten filled pizza for them. let me know how the frozen one come out.

  12. thanks, Michele! that’s a great idea. it would cut down on the oil used which would be nice. The oil does help the crust brown up nicely but you could always brush a little on after forming it. I’m definitely going to try your tip next time i make it. let me know how it turns out for you.

  13. We decided to have a taster’s choice pizza contest – it was the only way to determine which crust was best. This crust, allowed to rise 30 minutes, won – hands down. (Did one crust without rising and it had less chew-factor.) It is now our go to pizza crust, thank you very much. To spread the “dough”, I used the back of a wet cereal spoon – dip in water, two strokes, dip again, and so on. Slow but nice even and perfectly round crust. I tried my hands with water and with oil, but it just didn’t work out. Did I mention – this pizza ROCKS! Oh my, we ate too much – LOL!

  14. Tracey, so glad y’all like the pizza. I agree with you about it being a little better with a short rise time, but sometimes when i am in a hurry i just pop it right in. Fun idea to do a taste testing. And glad you found a way that works for you to get it spread out nicely!
    I know exactly what you mean about eating too much of it. . . I get so excited when i make it (after not having decent pizza for almost 7 years!) that I am always very very full. 😉

  15. I made this pizza crust yesterday and it was easey peasey.. I hand mixed it ( no fancy mixer in my home) and followed your advice about using oil to help spread the dough onto the parchment paper..
    it was soooooooooooooooooooooo delicious.. the texture was perfect.. first dough-ey crust I’ve had in ages. Gluten free bread products have been a disappointment until now. THanks so much!

  16. Sue, it thrills me to hear that you enjoyed it too! so much of the joy of cooking and baking GF is in sharing the goodness of successful recipes with other people who have being doing without and missing old favorites. Horray that GOOD pizza is back in your house! very fun. hope you have a Merry Christmas.

  17. This crust was wonderful. I substituted millet flour for sorghum. It was like eating real crust. Thank you

  18. This recipe looks amazing! My favorite part of pizza used to be the crust. But ever since I have been GF, I gave up ever having the true pizza experience. I have awesome recipes for just about everything else except pizza dough. Thanks again : ) this will be on my weekend menu! : )

  19. Kathy, I can’t wait for you to make it! it is so fun to have real crust again. Please report back and let me know how it goes.

  20. Very, very good. I turned out so good if I didn’t know it was gluten free I wouldn’t have been able to tell. I floured the wax paper really well with white rice flour and then spooned it out in one big blob. I then sprinkled white rice flour on top and rolled gently with a rolling pin. I had to add more flour as I went but it worked out perfectly. I let it rise in a warm oven for about 30 minutes. I baked it with the wax paper on a baking stone (I made one pizza with all the dough instead of two), after about 6-7 minutes I removed it from the oven pulled the wax paper off of the stone sprinkled the stone with gluten free polenta, then transfered the pizza without the paper back to the stone. Added toppings and baked about 10-15 more minutes. The crust was perfect.

  21. Thanks for sharing your experiences, Diane! that is always helpful to hear. glad you enjoyed the pizza! 🙂

  22. Pingback: Gluten Free Pizza Base « Saol gan Gluten

  23. Diane,
    I can’t thank you enough for this recipe (and credit to your references). I had all but given up on finding a decent base. I’d had enough of batter-like mixes that just caked up and tasted awful. Our little one also has diabetes type 1 as well as celiac so even though we rarely had pizza, it was missed a lot.
    It’s been great to have such a breakthrough. Thank you so much.
    John

  24. John, so glad it has worked well for you and been helpful for your family. This is for sure one of my all time favorite GF recipes/breakthroughs.
    Enjoy! 🙂
    Rebekah

  25. thankyou! This pizza has been my focus for a month! Not succeeded yet, last weeks was hard, this weeks was harder still! I have not got any tapioca flour, so just used the sorghum rice n corn starch… and this week forgot the egg! Last week i used too little Oil! So this week im gonna have to mail order some tapioca flour, (cant find anywhere in uk shops.. was hard to find the sorgum too!) and fingers crossed for next week that picture has my mouth watering!
    Ive also been using a deep pan type tray.. maybe this is stopping the crust from rising?

  26. I have been using your crust recipe for a couple of years now, and it is hands- down the best gluten free crust I have ever eaten!

    Today I was out of tapioca flour so I substituted corn starch, so basically it was cornstarch, white rice, and sorghum. It worked perfectly! Just the same result as with tapioca, but perhaps even a little easier to work with the dough. Maybe slightly less sticky. But the best part to me is that, without the tapioca flour, there is not a hint of that “gluten- free aftertaste” that we all know and despise.

    Thanks for a great recipe!!

  27. Karen,
    I too have been subbing corn starch for the tapioca! I first tried it with my pound cake one day when I was out of tapioca and I couldn’t believe that it actually seemed to work better. added bonus is that it is cheaper too. glad you are having success with the pizza! thanks for the feedback on the recipe. Merry Christmas!

  28. Just made my first gluten free pizza last night and… awful!!! Saw your recipe on google and am going to do some baking! My husband LOVES good pizza and will by my “test subjuct”, as he can eat anything! I’m looking for good chew and lots of flavor with a crisp outer shell! Wish me luck, and Thanks!

  29. OMG!!! I just made this, substituting Arrowroot for the Cornstarch (allergic) and 1 1/2 tsp Konjac powder (glucomannan) + 1 tsp ground chia seeds for the Xanthan Gum. Plus I whisked together 2 Tbsp ground flax meal with 1/3 C + 1 Tbsp hot water for the eggs. And much to my surprise and may I say holy mother of mercy, Chewy gluten free pizza and I’m not allergic to one thing in it! Whoop. Whoop.

  30. Pingback: The Best Pizza Recipe on the Web | karina'skitchen

  31. this recipe is awesome, my sister is gluten intolerant and so instead of using the recipe i normally use i tried this one and it turned out perfect, my sister loved it and my brother who hates gluten free pizza tried some and couldn’t tell the difference so thank you.

  32. I’ve made this a few times and I’m loving it! It’s even been called “delicious” by the gluten loving crowd! I used a wet spoon to sculpt my crust with much success. Thank you for a great recipe.

  33. Thanks for the recipe
    i would like to try it 🙂

  34. lorraineivy@hotmail.com

    I have been searching for the perfect gluten free pizza for 8 years now. I cannot wait to try your amazing pizza. Thank you so much for sharing! 😊

Leave a Reply

