Beef Noodle Bake (Gluten Free)

Growing up, I remember my Aunt Margaret making something called Beef Noodle Bake.  It had egg noodles, ground beef, and a tangy tomato sauce.  I think it had sour cream and maybe cream cheese in it but I don’t know for sure.  I set out today to recreate that dish using gluten free elbow macaroni.  What resulted was a very easy dish that we all really enjoyed.  I sauteed my ground beef, added spaghetti sauce, cream cheese, sour cream, and some salt and pepper. I cooked my noodles, threw it all together in a casserole dish, topped with shredded cheese and baked.  Pretty darn good. We really enjoyed it served with a fresh garden salad.

INGREDIENTS:

2 lbs ground beef

1 24 oz jar spaghetti sauce (I used one flavored with garlic and olive oil)

1 can petite diced tomatoes – do not drain (spicy or regular. . . up to you!)

1/4 cup water

1 8oz block cream cheese, cubed

1 1/2 cup (8oz) sour cream

1 16 oz pkg macaroni elbow noodles (GF if necessary. I use Tinkyada Brown Rice noodles)

1 cup shredded cheese (I used a mixed italian blend)

salt and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS:

Cook pasta according to package directions.

While noodles are cooking, brown ground beef in a large skillet.  Drain and rinse meat and then return to the skillet.  Add the spaghetti sauce,  can of diced tomatoes, 1/4 cup water, cream cheese, and sour cream. Simmer on low stirring frequently until well combined. Salt and pepper to taste.

Preheat oven to 350.

Pour cooked noodles into 9×13 pan and then cover with meat sauce.  Mix well with spoon to combine. Cover with foil and bake for 20 minutes.  Remove foil and sprinkle top with shredded cheese.  Return to oven for 5 minutes to melt cheese.

Serve and enjoy!

UPDATE: This was good the night I made it, but today, the leftovers seem dry.  I think I would have liked it a little saucier anyway, so I am changing the recipe to have more sour cream and a can of petite diced tomatoes undrained (spicy or regular), and a little water.

3 responses to “Beef Noodle Bake (Gluten Free)

  1. I made this tonight and it was very good. I made it with whole wheat penne pasta and ground turkey instead of beef. Thanks for the recipe 🙂

  2. oh good, Sarah. glad y’all enjoyed it. I’ll have to try using ground turkey in it sometime too.

  3. Testy Pasta Joy Ready. A classic in texture and taste. Wheat free

Leave a Reply

