Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Topping (Gluten Free)

My family loves this meal. It doesn’t have a traditional pie crust topping, although you could certainly make it that way.  I use a recipe of my Whipping Cream Biscuits (GF) and top the filling with those.  Mmmmmmmmm. So good. And I think it is relatively easy.  Make a recipe of my Cream of Chicken Soup and then throw in some cubed up chicken (you could use store bought rotisserie chicken to really speed this up), diced carrots and celery, and some frozen peas.  Cook briefly on the stove and pour into a casserole dish.  Then top with the biscuits and bake.  Comfort food for sure.  You should try it.

An important note: This makes TWO 9×13 pans.  I love that because I can make it for a crowd or if just making it for our family, I can freeze one of them uncooked for another night when I don’t want to cook.  You can also cut the recipe in half and just end up with one 9×13.  But, I’m warning you,  its so good that you will regret that decision. 🙂

Ingredients:

All items for cream of chicken soup (butter, flour, chicken broth, and cream)

Plus

5 -6 cups diced/shredded chicken (4-5 chicken breasts depending on size)

2 1/2 cups diced carrots

2 cups diced celery

2 cups frozen peas

A recipe of my Whipping Cream Biscuits (whipping cream and self rising flour (or Pamelas Baking Mix if GF))

Now get started.  Make this soup:

Cream of Chicken Soup (Gluten Free)

1 stick of butter

1 large onion diced (optional)

1 cup white or brown rice flour (ALL purpose flour if you don’t need GF)

6 cups hot chicken broth/stock

1/3 cup cream (or milk if you want a lighter version)

Melt the butter in a large pot on your stove.  *If you like onions, which we do, saute a chopped onion in this melted butter for about 5 minutes.  Then proceed. . . Stir in the flour and cook for approx 2 minutes stirring constantly.  Meanwhile, warm your chicken broth/ stock.  It should be really hot, but doesn’t need to be boiling. I do mine in the microwave but you can do it in a smaller pot on your stove if you wish.  I pour 6 cups of water in a bowl and add in the necessary # of boullion cubes or spoonfulls of Better Than Boullion to make my stock. Then I get it all hot and dissolved in the microwave.

After cooking your butter/flour mixture for 2 minutes, add in the hot broth/stock and whisk to make sure it is all combined.  Do this quickly to get rid of any lumps.  Now, let is simmer for about 2-3 minutes to thicken.  Stir in your milk or cream.  Add in 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp black pepper, and 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder.

To make the Chicken Pot Pie filling:

Add cubed chicken, carrots, celery and peas to the soup mixture. Stir to combine and simmer on stove for about 5 minutes. Pour into 2 9×13 baking dishes.

Make a batch of Whipping Cream Biscuits (GF)  and top your casserole with biscuits.  I put 10-12 biscuits on top of each casserole dish. I like to make these thinner than I might if I were just serving them as plain biscuits and it gives me enough biscuits to cover both casseroles.

Bake at 350 for about 35-40 minutes until biscuits are golden and cooked through.  Serve and enjoy!

One response to “Chicken Pot Pie with Biscuit Topping (Gluten Free)

  1. This recipe looks great! I’m looking forward to trying it for one of our evening meals. Have added your link to my blog.
    Best
    Nicola

Leave a Reply

