Lemon Pound Cake (Gluten Free)

My sweet friend, Stephanie, called me today because she was making a meal for a friend of hers who eats gluten free. We chatted about options for their meal and then I decided to offer to make them a pound cake.  I ‘ve been dying for an excuse to re-make my pound cake, doing lemon this time.  I had so much fun tweaking the flavors until I thought it had the perfect amount of tangy lemon and the right texture.  I made two mini muffins first, to make sure I had it perfect, before baking the whole cake.  I think you will greatly enjoy this!  Something about lemon flavor makes me feel like Spring is on the horizon.

And of course, if you don’t need a gluten free cake, just adapt it per my instructions at the bottom of the recipe.

Enjoy!

Lemon Pound Cake (Gluten Free)

*Adapted from my “Perfect Pound Cake”

INGREDIENTS:

3 sticks of butter, softened but not melted

2 3/4 cups granulated white sugar

5 eggs

3 cups Rice Flour Blend* (2 parts rice flour, 2/3 part potato starch, 1/3 part tapioca flour). I was actually out of potato starch and tapioca flour today so I used a cup of corn starch and 2 cups of rice flour. It worked GREAT. Wonderful texture.

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 tsp baking powder

1  tsp xanthan gum

3/4  cup milk (I used whole)

Juice of one lemon (about 1/4 cup)

Zest of 2 lemons

*If you are not making this gluten free, just use 3 cups of all purpose flour and omit the xanthan gum.

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter and flour a tube or bundt pan. Don’t use Pam or nonstick cooking spray.  I have tried doing that and the cake sticks to the pan every time.

With a mixer, cream butter and sugar together.  Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating after each addition. Mix in lemon juice.  Mix in milk.  Stir dry ingredients together in a bowl.  Add lemon zest to dry ingredients. Slowly add dry ingredients to the mixing bowl.  Pour into prepared tube pan and bake for 1 to 1 1/2 hours, until a toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.  Mine baked for a hour and ten minutes and was perfect.  Occasionally peek at the cake though.  If they top starts to get really brown, you will need to lay a piece of foil loosely over it so that it can keep cooking internally without burning the top. I sprayed my foil with non stick spray this time too because last time the cake adhered to the foil in places.

When it is done, remove it from the oven and let it sit in the pan for 10 minutes before inverting it onto a plate.  If you do it sooner, your cake might fall slightly.

Make a glaze by combining the juice of one lemon and 1 cup of powdered sugar.  Whisk until no lumps remain.  When cake is cool, pour the glaze over the cake.

2 responses to “Lemon Pound Cake (Gluten Free)

  1. the best I have EVER tasted!!! the perfect cake! Yumm mm , so lemony!

  2. This is the best gluten free cake I have ever eaten. My guests were shocked when I told them it was “gluten free.” Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will certainly bake this again and again.

Leave a Reply

