Honey Lime Chicken Tostadas with Cilantro Cream Sauce (Gluten Free)

My sister in law, Kristen, has been telling me about a fabulous enchilada recipe that they have been using.  It sounded like something we would enjoy so today she sent me the recipe.  I about to start making it, when I realized I was missing a few of the ingredients.  I didn’t want to head to the grocery in the snow so I brainstormed throughout the day and came up with these tostadas. They were a BIG hit with my family.  The flavors are actually very similar to my King Ranch Chicken Casserole, but I love that this dish has more texture, due to the crispy tortillas.  The marinade that you poor over the cooked chicken is from Kristen’s recipe and then I just made up the rest.  And don’t worry, I will be making the enchiladas very soon and likely posting that recipe.

This is really quite simple.  You cook chicken, shred it up, pour a honey lime marinade over it.  Then you toast up some corn tortillas in the oven and add layers of mexican goodness.

The Cilantro Cream Sauce is also super easy.  I’ll post that recipe at the bottom of this page. 4 ingredients and a blender/food processor and it is done!!

Honey Lime Chicken Tostadas (makes 10 tostadas)

Ingredients:

3 large boneless skinless chicken breasts

Marinade:

1/3 cup honey

1/4 cup lime juice (or the juice of 2 large limes)

2 1/2 TBSP chili powder

1 tsp garlic powder (or fresh minced)

Layer Ingredients:

1 can rotel (mild, regular, or hot depending on your preference)

1 can fat free spicy refried beans

1 1/2 cups shredded mexican cheese

1 Jar Taco Bell Mild Restaurant Sauce (this is the sauce that is in their packets at the restaurant)

shredded lettuce (optional)

fresh chopped tomatoes (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Cook your chicken.  I like to either slow roast mine in the oven or do it in my crock pot the night before.  I generally don’t like to boil it because I think you lose so much flavor in the water.

Shred or dice it up.

Mix up the marinade by pouring all ingredients in a small bowl and whisking to combine. Pour the marinade over the chicken and set aside.  In my opinion, if you can do this an hour or more ahead of time you will get better flavor. You could even do this a day ahead and cover it with plastic wrap and store in your fridge until ready to use.

Now, preheat your oven to 350.  Take 10 corn tortillas and place them on a baking sheet.  Bake about 10 minutes until lightly golden brown.  Watch them carefully, as they can go from perfect to burned very quickly.  You shouldn’t need to flip them if your oven cooks evenly.  Some people like to fry these. I think baking them is fine and it gives them a great crispy texture without adding lots of fat and oil.

While the tortillas are toasting, drain your can of Rotel and then stir the refried beans and Rotel together.  Warm in your microwave until heated through.

When they tortillas are crispy remove them from the oven and leave it turned on.

Now, spread the refried bean/rotel mixture onto each crispy tortilla. 

Top with chicken that has been marinated (make sure to heat your chicken up. I just microwaved mine for 2 minutes).

Now sprinkle each one with shredded cheese and put the pan back in the oven. 

Cook in the oven for about 3-4 minutes, until the cheese is melted and slightly browned.  Everything is already cooked so you don’t need to leave them in long.

Remove from the oven.  Drizzle lightly with the Taco Bell Sauce (which is so so yummy! I think I could drink the stuff).  Top with shredded lettuce if desired.  (I didn’t have any but next time I will make sure to add it because I think it would be a great crunch on top and add fresh green color)   Now, drizzle with the Cilantro Cream Sauce and serve.

This is a fun, messy meal to eat.  We just picked them up with our hands like little mini pizzas. 

But I suppose if you are feeling proper, get a fork and knife.

Cilantro Cream Sauce:

3/4  cup sour cream (light is fine)

Juice and zest of 1 lime

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro

Directions:

Place all ingredients in a blender or food processor and combine until smooth.  You might still have tiny pieces of cilantro but it is yummy!

Serve over Honey Lime Chicken Tostadas.

My kids also just love dipping corn chips in this sauce.  It is that good!

8 responses to “Honey Lime Chicken Tostadas with Cilantro Cream Sauce (Gluten Free)

  1. Thanks so much for this! I just found your site through Rotel on facebook! I just got diagnosed Gluten Intolerant/possible Celiac. Right now I am on an elimination diet…I hope to be back on just GF in a few weeks and then I will try this for sure! Looks SO good!

  2. Karen, i’m sorry you are having to sort through dietary issues. It can be difficult and frustrating. I hope you can enjoy some of these GF recipes. Feel free to let me know if you have any questions.

  3. thanks-the best part will be when my stomach gets better-the bloating and hardness is still there-getting better but this really is no fun! Thank God for you and others in the GF/Celiac community to guide me through this-I had no idea about any of this stuff until 2 weeks ago!

  4. oh yeah. . . the bloating and tenderness are awful. You will be amazed at how different you feel when you get it all out of your system. I’ve been helped by so many GF blogs and articles. Hope you get more and more confident in finding foods and cooking GF stuff. and if there is a specific food you are looking for or want to make let me know and i’ll do my best to help you or point you to someone who can.

  5. I would love to get some gluten free snack ideas for my kids. They both have sensory processing disorder/mild autism so they are going on the diet as well as I can find replacement items or items that they like and can eat. They are really picky though-no fruits or veges unless they are pureed and hidden! So picky! Luckily, I am chef so it has not been too hard. My husband also works for a food distributor that has a pretty good GF selection and I have ordered some rice noodles since that is all I can have on the elimination diet for now. Thanks so much-everyone (you : ) has been so helpful-that has made this easier for sure!

  6. Rice CHEX cereal is GF and there are several flavor varieties now. They can eat that for snacks and you can use it to make “People Puppy Chow”. here is a link to a recipe for it.
    http://www.cooks.com/rec/view/0,1710,154170-231194,00.html
    also, popcorn or caramel popcorn if you want something a little different. link for that recipe here:
    http://glutenfreecooking.about.com/od/dessertsandsweets/r/gfcaramelcorn.htm
    If you can have oats, maybe some homemade granola bars?

  7. See if you can find Tinkyada brown rice pasta. It is the best i have found…

  8. I am going to buy some more chex-we have been eating that already but I think I will get the chocolate ones for sure for the boys to snack on. I was looking for granola/cereal bars and found some at Sams’ that appear to be GF but the company says no. They are called Clif Z Bars. I will have to make my own. We have a popcorn popper and eat popcorn with our own butter so we can keep doing this yeah! We already are into a lot of natural/organic foods and just hate anything that is really processed anyway-so at least that will not be a hard change for us. Thanks so much! By the way-my husband should love the lemon cake you just e mailed out!

Leave a Reply

