Sweet Southern Cornbread Muffins (Gluten Free)

As I was looking for a good cornbread recipe, I discovered that there is quite the controversy over whether it should be made  savory or sweet.  Many southerners claim that REAL cornbread is sweet.  On the other hand, I heard a northerner say that they are the ones who first came up with sweet cornbread.  And then there are those who swear by savory variations, with any number of ingredients from whole kernel corn to jalapenos to cheddar cheese to green chilis to chili powder.  You get my point?

I decided that both could be great and, in my opinion, it all depended on what you were serving it with.  Tonight, we are having my Vegetarian Chili.  It is rather spicy so I concluded that the sweet cornbread would be a good choice.

After making that decision, the next hurdle was sifting through the 1000’s of recipes and trying to formulate one that would be gluten free. Then I went shopping in my own pantry to see what flours I currently had on hand.  I came up with a combination of sorghum flour and tapioca starch and decided to use those with yellow corn meal to make my sweet cornbread muffins.   They turned out great.  I think the recipe would have also been successful with rice flour and tapioca starch, leaving out the sorghum.  I might try that next time.

I made mine into mini-muffins because I think they are so cute and they conveniently cook faster than larger muffins.  I actually baked a few, taste tested them, added more liquid to the batter, and then baked the rest.

Try them sometime with hearty chili or your other favorite soup.  I think you will enjoy them!

Ingredients:

Dry Ingredients:

  • 1 cup cornmeal (I used yellow)
  • 1/2 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup tapioca starch (or rice flour)
  • 1 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar

Wet Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 stick of melted butter
  • 1  cup milk
  • 1 cup of frozen corn (optional- I have made them with and without the corn and had great results either way)

Directions:

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. Line a muffin pan with paper liners.
  3. Measure out the dry ingredients into a bowl and whisk to combine.
  4. In a separate large mixing bowl, combine the eggs with the butter and milk and beat for 1 minute.
  5. Add in the dry ingredients a little at a time and beat by hand just until a smooth batter is formed, about one minute. It should be thicker than a cake batter.
  6. If your batter seems a little dry, add a Tbsp more milk at a time until you achieve a smooth batter.
  7. Spoon the batter into the muffin cups. Then, wet your fingers slightly and use them to smooth the tops of the muffins a bit.  This is not crucial but it will give you the nice rounded tops rather than jagged points.
  8. Bake the muffins in the center of a pre-heated oven for about 10-12 minutes for mini muffins and 20 to 25 minutes for regular sized ones. The muffins should feel firm to the touch; and a wooden toothpick inserted into the center should emerge mostly dry.
  9. Place the muffins on a wire rack to cool. They are wonderful served warm.

Makes one dozen regular sized muffins or 2 dozen mini muffins.

2 responses to “Sweet Southern Cornbread Muffins (Gluten Free)

  1. looks goooood!!! making these tomorrow! thank you 🙂

  2. Thank you so much for this, would I be able to replace the butter for coconut oil, and if so what amount?

Leave a Reply

