Tilapia Parmesan (Gluten Free)

Let me start by saying that the blog should be a little easier to navigate now.  Thanks for being patient with me as I try to figure out how to do this.  On the right hand side of the home page you will see where it says “RECIPES”.  Under that there is a drop down menu that says “SELECT CATEGORY”.  If you pull that menu down you will be able to look for recipes under categories such as main dish, dessert, side dish, etc…  I am still looking for a way to make it even more simple but that should do for now.  If you know how to navigate wordpress accounts and have any suggestions for me please let me know.  I need all the help I can get.

Now, with that out of the way, on to the tilapia recipe.  I saw someone mention this recipe on a gluten free listserve that I subscribe to.  It sounded interesting to me and I usually have all the ingredients so I decided to give it a shot for dinner tonight.

This dish is excellent.  And about as easy as it gets.  I’m almost tempted to say that you will like it even if you don’t like fish.  Tilapia is such a mild fish and it is usually CHEAP, which is good for those of us on a tight budget.  Give it a shot and let me know what you think.  I hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

Tilapia Parmesan

Adapted from All Recipes
1/2 Cup grated parmesan cheese

2 TBSP softened butter

3 TBSP sour cream or mayonnaise (I used sour cream)

The juice from 1 lemon (about 2 TBSP)

1/2 tsp dried basil

1/4 tsp onion powder

1/2 tsp garlic powder

2 pounds tilapia fillets (I used 4 pretty big fillets)

Turn your oven to Broil.  Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with oil.  Arrange fillets in a single layer on the prepared pan. Broil a few inches from the heat for about 3 minutes. Flip the fillets over and broil for a couple more minutes. Remove the fillets from the oven and cover them with the Parmesan cheese mixture on the top side. Broil for 2 more minutes or until the topping is browned and fish flakes easily with a fork. Be careful not to over cook the fish.

Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

