Gluten Free Cranberry Orange Scones!!

To my sweet gluten free readers:
I promised you weeks ago that I would come up with a way to make those scones gluten free. And, today was the day. I am shocked at how simply I was able to convert the recipe. The texture is FABULOUS! The taste is so delicate and good. I wish you were at my house right now enjoying one with me. I took the tray of them to our Tuesday morning women’s Bible study and they quickly disappeared. It always warms my heart when people enjoy something I have made and have no idea it is gluten free.  Next time I make them, though, I am not sharing. 🙂
I basically used the same recipe but subbed a rice flour blend and added xanthan gum. And it was, in every way, successful!
Ok, now go get the stuff to make these. And brew up some coffee or tea to go with them.

Gluten Free Cranberry Orange Scones

  • 2 1/2 cups of Rice Flour Blend*
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 tbsp white sugar
  • 1 cup dried cranberries (soaked in hot water for about 10 min so that they plump up and are moist, then drained)
  • 1/2 cup butter (cold and cut into small cubes)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup sour cream or plain yogurt
  • the zest of one orange

*Rice Flour Blend:  2 parts Rice flour (white or brown), 2/3 part potato starch, 1/3 part tapioca flour :

If this confuses you (which it did me at first!) just put 4 cups of rice flour, 1 1/3 cups potato starch, and 2/3 cup tapioca starch in a ziploc bag and mix well to combine.  Now measure out the amount you need, which is 2 1/2 cups for this recipe. I store my remaining flour in the fridge.

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat your oven to 375.  Combine your dry ingredients. Using a pastry cutter or two knives, cut the butter into the flour mixture until you end up with coarse crumbs. Add your cranberries and orange zest. Add two eggs to the sour cream (or yogurt) and beat lightly. Add to dry mixture and stir until just moistened. Turn out onto floured surface.  Knead only til the dough holds together. Make into two circles, about 1/2 inch thick.  Cut into wedges (i cut each circle into 8 wedges with a pizza cutter and ended up with 16 scones.  You could do them bigger and end up with 12 but I like mine on the smaller side) and put onto a lightly greased pan or pan lined with parchment paper.   Bake at 375 for 15 min.

Cool for about 10 minutes.  Make glaze by combining 1/4 cup orange juice with 1 cup of confectioners sugar until smooth.  Drizzle over scones.

Serve and impress! Your friends are gonna love these.

12 responses to “Gluten Free Cranberry Orange Scones!!

  1. love, love, love these. so good with coffee!!! can’t wait for more recipes!

  2. thanks so much. an absolute hit. mega points from the fiancee.

  3. Glad you and your fiancee enjoyed them don! 🙂

  4. Can I use frozen blueberries?

  5. Pingback: Tuesdays at OAMM – Cranberry Orange Scones

  6. I’ve no gluten allergy, but my cousin does. Made these for her for breakfast and I thought they were better than the gluten-full scones I made for the rest of us! I also used 1/3 cup of sugar instead of 3 Tbsp (which is what the regular recipe uses) but wow! Very impressed.

  7. I baked these scones this morning and they tasted like the real deal! Absolutely delicious with a cup of coffee. I used the Maninis all-purpose GF flour and substituted currents for the dried cranberries, but other than than I followed the recipe to a “T”. Thank you so much for sharing!

  8. Pingback: Cranberry Orange Scones Trial: Gluten-free, Dairy-free, Nut-free | The Rice of Life

  9. Could I replace the potato starch with sweet sorghum flour?

  10. I would not use sweet sorghum in place of potato starch. maybe use tapioca flour or corn starch b/c those have a more similar weight and texture.

  11. Pingback: Gluten Free Dairy Free Cranberry Orange Scones | OAMC from Once A Month Meals

  12. These look great! I like to use weight for GF flours rather than volume. Can you please give an approximate weight to use for the blend? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

