Spicy Honey Chicken (Gluten Free)

Last night we had our weekly Bible Study.  Afterwards about 20 people came to our house to hang out and celebrate a birthday.  It was so much fun.  But, afterwards, Joab and I cleaned up and realized that it was 9:00 and we were hungry because we didn’t ever eat dinner. Oops.  Remembering that I had some chicken in the fridge, I quickly searched the web for a recipe.  I wanted something new and blog-worthy.  I came upon a recipe on “Our Best Bites” for this chicken.  It was not very spicy, at least to us.  We like things pretty kicked up around here so next time I will throw in some extra cayenne.  But for most people, it will be just right.  It was a  nice change of flavors.

The original recipe says to grill this chicken.  I highly recommend this for several reasons.

1) You get that good grilled flavor.

2) Grilling is fun. 🙂

3) I used an indoor grill pan and my house was full of smoke.  Oops.

The reason for #3 is that the glaze is a honey glaze and therefore there is no way for what drips off the chicken to not burn. Yep, it burns fast and makes a very ugly mess.  So, don’t do it like I did.  Turn on that grill and do it outside.

The original recipe also calls for using boneless skinless chicken thighs.  When I came across this recipe a few weeks ago, I made a mental note to get some thighs.  I wish I had used breasts.  I know they aren’t perhaps as tender and juicy as thighs, but I discovered that I don’t like thighs that much.  But, if you like thighs, go for it.  And if you prefer breasts, then do that.  I would recommend if you use boneless skinless breasts to pound them down a bit to tenderize.  Or you could buy chicken cutlets.  The flavor of the spice rub and glaze will work well with any of these cuts of meat.

So, now for the recipe:

Spicy Honey Chicken

2 t  oil

Rub:

2 t granulated garlic
2 t chili powder
1/2 t onion powder
1 t kosher salt
1 t cumin
1/2 t chipotle chili powder

for extra heat, increase chipotle or add ground red pepper

8 boneless skinless chicken thighs or breasts

Glaze:
1/2 C Honey
1T Cider Vinegar

DIRECTIONS:

Combine the spices in a bowl and mix well.

Drizzle oil over chicken and rub in with your hands to lightly coat all the pieces. Then toss chicken with the spice rub to coat all sides well. Use your hands and get in there!

Grill chicken a few minutes on each side, until cooked through.

While chicken is cooking, warm honey in the microwave so it’s not so thick. Add the vinegar and combine well. Reserve 2Tablespoons of the honey glaze for later. Take the rest and brush on chicken (both sides) in the final moments of grilling.

And for your entertainment, here is what happened in my kitchen:

you see that smoke?

I am warning you that this makes a hot mess.  Like I said before, it is sugar and it is  gonna drip. But the smelly smoke is worth it for a minute or two. If you do it outside, just leave your grill on for a few minutes after the chicken is done to burn off any excess glaze. It’s totally worth it once you taste this stuff.

If you insist on doing this inside on your grill pan (like me) or in your oven, open a window and turn on a vent.  You will have some smoke.

Now, remember that little bit of glaze you reserved??? After you are done cooking the chicken, put it on a plate and drizzle it with the remaining honey glaze.  Mmmmm….

We cut the chicken up and ate it on a salad.  You can do that or you can eat it as is, with some other side dishes.  I am going to try it next time on a bed of fresh mixed greens with avocados, black beans, corn, tomatoes, and some spicy ranch dressing.  There are lots of possibilities.  And my kids LOVED it.

Hope you enjoy it too!

Leave a Reply

