Spaghetti with Artichoke Hearts and Tomatoes (Gluten Free)

Do you like artichoke hearts?  If so, you are in luck.  If not, shame on you.  So tasty, healthy, and mmmmm…. You should give them another chance. . . Perhaps in this dish.

I encourage you to try this.  I just made it for lunch.  We don’t eat much pasta, but this was a nice change from traditional spaghetti with red sauce.  The original recipe is vegetarian, which I enjoyed. But I think it would also be wonderful with some grilled chicken cut up on it.  Or, for a super quick meal, you could just pick up a rotisserie chicken from your grocery store and shred that up.

I found the recipe online from The Pioneer Woman.  I added more artichoke hearts than her recipe calls for.  I just like them so much and when I looked at the pan, I thought it needed more. Plus, my extra can of them was begging me not to leave them out.  🙂  I also added a little parmesan cheese to the top of the dish before I served it.  Can you have too much parmesan?  I think not.

Anyway, here is the link to her recipe and her thorough explanation of everything.  This meal really is quite simple.  Hope you enjoy!

http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/10/wednesday-night-dinner-spaghetti-with-artichoke-hearts-and-tomatoes/

*If you are making this gluten free, I recommend using Tinkyada Pasta Joy Brown Rice pasta.  I won’t use any other brand.

Spaghetti with Artichoke Hearts and Tomatoes

Ingredients
  • 2 Tablespoons Olive Oil
  • 2 Tablespoons Butter
  • 3 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • ½ whole Medium Onion, Finely Diced
  • 1 can Artichoke Hearts (14.5 Oz. Quartered Or Whole) Drained
  • 1 can Diced Tomatoes With Juice (14.5 Oz.)
  • 1 cup Heavy Cream
  • ½ cups Chicken Broth (More As Needed)
  • ½ teaspoons Nutmeg
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • 1 pound Thin Spaghetti (Gluten Free if necessary)
  • 1 cup Parmesan Cheese, Freshly Grated
  • 2 Tablespoons Fresh Chives (or Other Herbs) Chopped
  • A few dashes of cayenne pepper (optional)
Preparation Instructions

Cook spaghetti till al dente. Drain and set aside.

Melt olive oil and butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onions and garlic and saute for 2 to 3 minutes.

Add artichoke hearts and tomatoes. Stir and cook for 8 to 10 minutes. Reduce heat to low. Stir in cream and chicken broth. Add salt and pepper to taste (do not undersalt!) Cook over low heat until heated through, then turn off heat.

Place drained pasta in a large bowl. Sprinkle with 1 cup Parmesan. Pour sauce over the top. Add chives. Toss lightly to combine and coat; add a tiny bit of reserved pasta water if sauce seems too thick.

*I think next time I make this I am going to throw in some chopped asparagus when I saute the onions and garlic.  I think it would taste great, add beautiful color, and get my kids eating their greens. 🙂

One response to “Spaghetti with Artichoke Hearts and Tomatoes (Gluten Free)

  1. Cannot wait to try this one this week!

Leave a Reply

