Jen’s Hot Pizza Dip (Gluten Free)

I love the way blogging connects people from all over.  My cousin-in-law, Jen, has been following my blog and trying some recipes.  Recently we communicated and she shared one of their favorite dip recipes with me.  After trying it,  I thought I would share it with you.  It is a hot pizza dip.  Doesn’t that sound yummy?  Well, it is.  It is great for me too, because I can use corn chips with it and have a gluten free pizza experience, without having to make a pizza crust.  Of course, real pizza is great, but when you want some good flavor and something a little different this is a good dish to try.

The other thing I love about it is that you can tweak it to your personal preferences.  What do you like on your pizza?  Well, just throw those things in this dish.  Her original recipe calls for olives.  I need to be honest. . . I hate olives.  There aren’t many foods that I don’t like, but olives is one of them.  So, I just left those out. 🙂  But I love green and red peppers and mushrooms on my pizza, so I added some of each of those.  In addition to the pepperoni layered in the dip, I also sprinkled some chopped pepperoni on top because i thought it would be a good presentation and let people know it was pizza flavored.

So, here is the recipe, compliments of Jen.  Thanks for sharing it with me!

Ingredients:
8oz sour cream (I usually use light)
8oz cream cheese (I usually use light)
1/2 tsp oregano
1 jar (14oz) pizza sauce (make sure it is gluten free if needed)
1/3 cup chopped onions
1 can (6oz) sliced black olives -( optional, depending on whether or not you like olives)

sliced pepperoni – Jen says she gets 6 large slices fresh from the deli & cuts them up into small pieces (I used about 12 small slices of turkey pepperoni chopped and it was great!)

1/2 cup chopped green peppers (or red or whatever you like) (optional)

1/4 cup chopped mushrooms (optional)

1 1/2 cups grated mozzarella cheese
Corn tortilla chips or breadsticks to dip

Directions:
Mix cream cheese, sour cream & oregano together. Spread the cheese mixture a 9in glass pie plate. Layer the other ingredients on top of the cheese mixture in the following order – pizza sauce, onions and peppers, mushrooms, olives, pepperoni, mozzarella cheese. I then added some more chopped pepperoni on top.  Bake the dip at 350 for 20-25 min or until cheese on top is completely melted & dip is hot all the way through.

Serve with corn chips or breadsticks for dipping.

One response to “Jen’s Hot Pizza Dip (Gluten Free)

  1. YAY! Can’t wait to try it. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

