Chocolate Crinkle Cookies (Gluten Free)

These are very good.  I needed a  new dessert to serve a group of guys who were coming for dinner. I contemplated doing a brownie box mix (I am not ashamed to admit it!), but I knew that wouldn’t be blog worthy.  So, I remembered seeing a post on another gluten free site that had these really pretty chocolate cookies.  After a little searching I found the site again.  Thanks a bunch, BakingBeauties.

Chocolate Crinkle Cookies (Gluten Free)

Ingredients:

1/2 cup vegetable oil

4 squares unsweetened chocolate, melted (or 4 Tbsp cocoa mixed with 10 Tbsp melted butter)

2 cups sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
2 tsp vanilla
2 cups GF Flour Mix (I used Pamelas)  (You can also use 1 cup white rice flour, 2/3 cup potato starch, 1/3 cup tapioca starch/flour)  *Or if you don’t need gluten free, just use all purpose flour and omit the xanthan gum.
1/2  tsp xanthan gum
1/4  tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder

1/2 cup chocolate chips (optional. . . I omitted these when I made them the first time, but next time I will add them because i think it would add good texture to the cookie)

Directions:

  1. Mix oil, chocolate, and sugar. Add eggs, one at a time, mixing thoroughly between each. Add vanilla.
  2. Sift dry ingredients together. Stir into chocolate mixture. Stir in chocolate chips.  Chill several hours or overnight.
  3. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Form dough into balls and roll in confectioner’s sugar to coat.
  4. Place about 2″ apart on parchment lined baking sheets. Bake about 10-14 minutes.

These really do turn out so pretty.  I love the contrast of the dark chocolate cookie with the dusting of white confectioners sugar.

And if you aren’t convinced to make them yet, does seeing this cute little face enjoying a cookie push you over the edge?? 🙂

3 responses to “Chocolate Crinkle Cookies (Gluten Free)

  1. I love Daniel. He is such a cute little man! I am going to try these cookies this week.

  2. my dough is really runny. does it firm up when it sits in the frige?

  3. My batter is super runny too. I followed the directions exactly. Left them in the fridge overnight. Let the dough firm up a bit. The cookies spread all over the sheet. I’m going to try to add to the dough to firm up the remainder.

Leave a Reply

