GLUTEN FREE SUGAR COOKIES!

My dear GF friends, this is for you.
Sometimes I feel like a traitor even posting recipes that aren’t Gluten Free. But, I do have some friends who want regular recipes and don’t have stock piles of rice, tapioca, and bean flours like we do. 🙂
Can I tell you how terrible it was the other day to make all those yummy looking (and tasting from what i am told) sugar cookies for Valentine’s gifts??? So sad. It made me all the more determined to try and give you a GF version.
After some searching and baking I have one word for ya:   DELICIOUS.
Gluten Free friends, make yourself a Valentine’s day treat. You will love them.
Here’s the deal. I found lots of GF sugar cookie recipes online. But most of them use shortening. And whenever possible, I avoid that stuff like the plague. I just think it is gross. Anyway, I combined the basics of a few recipes and used all butter. How can you go wrong with all butter? mmmmmmmmmm… Buttery goodness.
Also, cut out sugar cookies, in my opinion, are best with almond extract. Takes me back to my childhood, making sugar cookies with my sweet Mom. But, alas, if you insist that you don’t like almond, go with vanilla.. . or get more interesting with lemon extract.

So, here is the recipe:
Gluten Free Sugar Cookies
Ingredients:
2/3 cup real butter
3/4 cup sugar
1 egg (large or xlarge)
1 tsp almond extract (use vanilla if you like that better)
1 Tbsp milk
1 cup rice flour
1/2 cup tapioca starch
1/2 cup potato starch
1 tsp unflavored gelatin
2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp xanthan gum

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
2. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until creamy. Add egg, almond extract & milk. Mix until combined.
3. In a separate large mixing bowl, combine rice flour, tapioca starch, potato starch, unflavored gelatin, baking powder, salt & xanthan gum. Whisk to combine.
4. Add dry ingredients to creamed mixture. Mix until combined.
5. Divide the dough in half and wrap each piece in plastic wrap & refrigerate for 2-3 hours. (I was impatient so I put mine in the freezer for 30 min! it worked great.)
6. Roll half the dough at a time (keep the rest in the fridge), between 2 sheets of waxed paper, to 1/4″ to 1/2″ thick. Cut into desired shapes and place on prepared cookie sheets. (If the dough becomes sticky, return to the fridge to chill again or dust lightly with rice flour.)
7. Bake in preheated oven for 8-10 minutes or until the edges and bottoms are very lightly browned. Slide parchment paper onto counter and let Cool completely before icing.

Now, have some fun and ice these little bites of buttery delight.  Use the Glace Icing recipe below and get creative with your designs and sprinkles.

Glacé Icing

1lb powdered sugar (about 3 3/4 C)
5T whole milk (low-fat actually works, but use whole if you can)
6T light Corn Syrup (6T is equal to 1/4 C plus another 2 T)
1 t extract (I use almond because I use almond in my sugar cookies)

With a whisk, combine sugar and milk until smooth (no lumps!) Then stir in corn syrup and extract.

I then divide my white icing into several separate bowls and add food coloring gel to make different colors.

Ice your cookies and let them dry for at least 6-8 hours so that they don’t smudge and mess up.  I used a baby spoon to spread my icing and it worked wonderfully.  Seemed to be the perfect size.

UPDATE:

I couldn’t resist sharing this cute photo of the littlest member of our family, trying to put one of these cookies in his mouth. . . WHOLE. 🙂   He gives the recipe two thumbs up!

One response to “GLUTEN FREE SUGAR COOKIES!

  1. Fabulous post and Amazing website! Bookmarked it too

Leave a Reply

