Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownies (Gluten Free or Regular)

I’m sure I’m not the first person to do this, but I thought I would share it anyway.  In planning a meal for some friends who just had a baby, I was contemplating what to make for dessert. I wanted something relatively easy but yummy. I had a brownie mix but wanted to “doctor it up” a little.  So, I decided to add some chunky peanut butter to the brownie mix and VOILA!  Deliciousness (if that is a word)!!!

All you need is your favorite brownie mix (mine is Betty Crocker Dark Chocolate Brownie or Betty Crocker Gluten Free Brownie Mix) + the eggs, oil, and water called for on the box

1/2 Cup Crunchy Peanut Butter (I use the natural kind)

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

1 egg

DIRECTIONS:

Make the brownie mix according to the package. Grease a 9×13 (8×8 square if you are using the gluten free mix) baking dish and pour the brownie batter into the pan.  In a separate bowl, mix the peanut butter, brown sugar, and egg until well combined.  Place spoonfuls of the peanut butter mixture all over the top of the brownie batter. 

Run a knife through the batter several times to create a pretty marbled look.

Bake in the oven at 350 for about 23 min or until a toothpick inserted in the center is almost clean. I like mine a little fudgy so i don’t wait until the toothpick is completely clean.

Let cool for about an hour before trying to cut and remove from the pan.  This will allow you to get nice pretty servings out. Of course, if you don’t care if they are pretty and just can’t help yourself, forget the cooling and dive right in! 🙂

A little secret I learned :  USE A PLASTIC KNIFE TO CUT YOUR BROWNIES.  I don’t know why this works, but the brownies stick to it so much less than a metal knife.  Try it and see what you think.

2 responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Brownies (Gluten Free or Regular)

  1. These were really good .. I am the lucky neighbor that got to taste test:)

  2. And I am the lucky neighbor who had the baby who got to enjoy them…we loved these!

Leave a Reply

