Welcome to The Happy Tummy!

Hi everyone.

After getting up at 5am with our littlest, I couldn’t go back to sleep.  I decided to do one of my favorite things which is search through some good food blogs for new recipes to try.  As i was doing this, I realized that i have a LOT of recipes stored up in my brain and some scribbled out onto paper scraps here and there. And, so, the idea was born to start my own food blog.  i’m not sure anyone will read it, but have come to the conclusion that, regardless,  it will be a good exercise for me for several reasons:

1) I don’t usually measure when I am cooking.  I guess after cooking for so many years I have learned to eye-ball most things. And I usually have enough confidence to just guess on spices and flavorings. The problem that i continue to run into is that when asked for a recipe, I get all nervous and panicked b/c i can’t reliably duplicate the recipe in question.  I am hoping that this new venture will force me to keep track of amounts and specific details in my cooking so that i can pass things along to others and have records for myself.

2) I love the challenge of creating new recipes or altering old ones to fit the needs of my family.  I think this will help me be more intentional about getting out of the rut of making the same old things and making my family happy with some new flavors.

3) For health reasons, I went gluten free about 5 years ago.  At first, i thought that this new lifestyle meant that I couldn’t cook much anymore (due to so many ingredient limitations!) and that i had to settle for less than average flavors and textures in my food.  Not true!! Sure, there are some things that will never taste the same as they did when i could eat gluten, but boy have i discovered that there are ways to re-vamp meals and turn them into gluten free masterpieces! 🙂  Many of my posts will be gluten-free with the option to make them regular if you would like. It really just involves a few simple changes most of the time.

So, that’s that. Now, which recipe should i cook and post first??? my head is swimming with possibilities!

How about my FAVORITE COOKIE RECIPE? yep, that’s it.  Stay tuned for “Gluten Free (or regular) Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies”

13 responses to “Welcome to The Happy Tummy!

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. You are the most amazing artist in the kitchen that I know. Of course you come from a long line of women that loved to cook and who practiced hospitality with gifts from their kitchens. Great, great grandmother Naomi Smith used to invite people working in the fields and walking down her street to share a meal with her family, rich and poor alike. She loved and believed the Bible and practiced extending hospitality to all who came her way. You remind me so much of what I know about her. Can’t wait to follow this blog!!!

  3. I am excited to follow this blog and try out new recipes! I have never cooked gluten free before. What are the benifits to a gluten free diet and why did you do it?

    • Cassie,
      Some people go gluten free just to try to eat healthy. Gluten is in wheat. So, if you don’t eat wheat, most of the time you end up not eating breads, baked goods, etc.. and eating lots more fruits, veggies, and meats. I went GF because I had stomach pain for years and couldn’t figure out why. I might have celiac disease which is a disease where your body can’t process gluten. I haven’t been tested yet but went ahead and stopped eating it and feel lots better. Anyway, there are ways to make breads, baked goods, and things like that using other types of flour such as rice flour, potato flour, almond flour, etc… I am learning to use those, through lots of failed attempts! 🙂 anyway, now i think it is fun to try to take recipes that have gluten and recreate them so that i can eat them GF.

  4. I guess I can just follow the blog now and not pester you for recipes … 🙂

  5. Nice Bek~
    I cant wait to see more! It looks like lots of us are going to benefit from your sleepless nights. :} I bought much variety at the grocery store today so Im ready to find ways to put them together…..write on!

    • yay! thanks for following. i’m hoping to post 2-3 recipes each week. Tomorrow i am thinking about posting spinach and cheese stuffed shells which is actually kind of embarrassingly easy. and later in the week King Ranch Chicken Casserole which has become a family favorite at our house. . . chicken, cream sauce, cilantro, corn tortillas, rotel, green and red peppers, cheese. . . oh so good!

  6. i can’t wait to try tried and true delicious recipes! i’ve searched food blogs and cooking sites for years and every time i try something new, it’s usually just okay or even sometimes not good at all. yay for PERMANENT recipes in the recipe box. 🙂

    • yeah, lindsey, i have had the same experience. i love to follow blogs where people have cooked the food, posted pics, and i can see others reviews on any particular recipe. so, i decided i should quit stalking all these blogs and try to do my own. 🙂

  7. I am going to the grocery today to get stuff to make those cookies! They look delish! Can’t wait to see more recipes! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  8. What a great idea, I’ll be excited to see your recipes, it’s always nice hearing recipes from other moms with small kids. I’m excited about the gluten free recipes also, like you I’ve had stomach issues for years and wonder if it would help me. It’s worth a try. Thanks so much for sharing.

  9. What a fun blog! Thanks for stopping by mine too. I am always looking for a good recipe, so please keep them coming!

Leave a Reply

