Fudgy Gluten Free Brownies

Image

I have tried many many gluten free brownie recipes.  I have tried multiple combinations of flours, using beans as a base (as in the beloved Black Bean Chocolate Cake recipe), no flour at all, etc . . . And none of them have been to my liking. Until now. While browsing foodgawker, I stumbled upon a flourless brownie recipe that uses a combination of corn starch and cocoa powder in place of the flour. I have been using corn starch in other recipes as a wheat flour replacement so that sounded genious to me.  But I still didn’t anticipate results this good. They are shockingly like gluten-filled brownies. The texture is fudgy and dense, which, in my opinion, is how a brownie should be! They have that nice crackly top and they don’t completely fall apart when cut. Woo hoo!

You really should make these for your family. Let the kids help. . . cause what is more fun that making brownies??? 

I put a combination of walnuts and pecans in ours.  But you can certainly add any filler you like.  I think dried cranberries or flaked coconut or even some chocolate chips or M&M’s would be great stirred into the batter. Or, of course, you can just leave them plain.

The recipe from The Comfort of Cooking says to use parchment paper in the pan.  Instead, I just buttered my pan and then dusted it with cocoa powder.  I did not have any trouble getting them out of the pan. Also, the original recipe says to us an 8×8 square pan. I couldn’t find mine since we are in the middle of moving so I used a 8×11 rectangular pan and I’m so glad I did. It made thick brownies and I still got 12 large brownies out of it.

Fudgy Gluten Free Brownies

*recipe from The Comfort of Cooking

Ingredients

6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces, plus more for the pan

1/3 cup cornstarch, spooned and leveled

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa)

1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon table salt

12 ounces semisweet chocolate chips (I used dark chocolate chips)

3/4 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3 large eggs

1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (or any other filler you like)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly butter an 8-inch square baking pan and line with parchment paper, leaving a bit of overhang on two sides (Buttering underneath the parchment will help it lay flat on the baking pan).

I buttered and dusted my pan with cocoa  and did not use parchment. They came out fine. I also used a 8×11 rectangular pan and still had 12 very thick, good sized brownies.

In a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch, cocoa, cinnamon and salt. Set aside.

In a large microwaveable bowl, microwave butter and chocolate in 20-second increments, stirring between, until melted and smooth, about 2 minutes. Stir in sugar and vanilla. Stir in eggs one at a time, until combined. Add cornstarch mixture and stir vigorously until mixture is smooth and begins to pull away from side of bowl, about 2 minutes. Stir in pecans.

Pour batter into pan and smooth top. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center comes out with a few moist crumbs attached, about 35 minutes. Let cool completely in pan on a wire rack or trivet. Using paper overhang, lift brownies out of pan and cut into 16 squares.

NOTE:  If you want to cut brownies with clean lines and not have them falling apart, USE A PLASTIC KNIFE. (First let them cool completely) I know that sounds crazy, but the brownies stick to metal knives.  The plastic knife slides through them easily with minimal sticking and minimal destruction. :)

Store in an airtight container, up to 3 days

Enjoy!

One response to “Fudgy Gluten Free Brownies

  1. Pingback: Gluten Free Wrap Up « Dancing in the Rain

Leave a Reply

