Chewy Flourless Chocolate Cookies (Gluten Free)

The flourless peanut butter cookie recipe on my blog is one of the most frequently viewed posts.  As a result, I know you will equally love these Flourless Chocolate Cookies. My mom found the recipe in a magazine insert and brought it to me to try. And boy was my family glad she did! :)  They are delicious and oh so easy. You need to make them.

Chewy Flourless Chocolate Cookies (Naturally Gluten Free)

1 3/4 cups powdered sugar

1/2 cup Dutch processed cocoa (I used Hershey’s Special Dark Cocoa but any decent cocoa should be fine)

2 tsp cornstarch (i was out of cornstarch and therefore substituted tapioca starch)

1/4 tsp salt

2 egg whites

1 cup chopped pecans or walnuts (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat oven to 300.

Mix together sugar, cocoa, cornstarch and salt.  Gradually add egg whites, stirring with a spoon until mixture forms a dough.  (Mixture should be thick enough to form into balls; if not, gradually add in more powdered sugar and cocoa).  I had to add about 1/4 cup of cocoa and 1/4 cup of powdered sugar to get the dough to a consistency that could be rolled into balls.

Add nuts and mix well.

Form dough into about 15 balls and place on parchment lined baking sheet. Bake 15-19 min, until glossy and crackled.  Cool completely (yeah right! warm cookies are the best!! but do let them cool for at least 5 min so that they hold their shape. )

Enjoy!!! preferably with some nice, cold milk! :)

10 responses to “Chewy Flourless Chocolate Cookies (Gluten Free)

  1. These look delicious! Tell me about Dutch processed cocoa, is it hard to find?

  2. No, it’s not hard to find. should be in your local grocery store. I actually used Hershey’s Special Dark cocoa for mine, mainly because i like DARK chocolate so much. Any decent cocoa should work though. Let me know how yours turn out! :)

  3. tastyeatsathome

    Ooh, count me in, yum!

  4. The peanut butter cookies were a huge hit with my cookie monster, so I am going to make these next. He will think he is in chocolate heaven. I just printed a bunch of your recipes up today, and am putting them in a special binder. You are so wonderfully creative, and you make greet things that normal people like as much as we gluten free people do. It’s my first day up after the virus, and making cookies was nice. They smell wonderful. I can’t wait until tomorrow when I can actually eat one myself. If he leaves me one! There is always that to worry about, but then again, these are easy enough to whip up a second batch if he does. Thanks so much for all the great recipes.

  5. Mari, your comment was the encouragement I needed tonight :) I love how blogging, particularly about food, connects people in kitchens from all over. Very glad y’all enjoyed the peanut butter cookies and sure hope the chocolate ones turn out just as yummy!

  6. Just wondering, where the egg whites supposed to be beaten? I just added the egg whites, and can’t imagine needing any more sugar or cocoa to mix in.

  7. No the egg whites don’t need to be beaten. just add them right in. I have had to add some amount of cocoa or powdered sugar every time. I think one issue could be the size of the egg you use? I think the first time I made them I used a medium egg. Though it doesn’t specify, I bet the original recipe intends it to be a large egg. Just do whatever works for you. Let me know how they turn out for you.

  8. I did use large eggs, but not extra large. It took a lot of work to get all of the sugar and cocoa mixed into a stiff “dough.” We didn’t get glossy or crackled, ours were crunchy and didn’t change shape. BUT, they were yummy.

    Next time I’ll just add more egg whites, as needed.

  9. Sounds delicious! Definitely going to try them. One question though – I am Dutch, is any cocoa here ok or is Dutch processed cocoa an American term for something else?

    I always have ‘blooker cacao’.

  10. Laura, any cocoa powder should be fine. I am not sure why this recipe said “DUTCH” but I have used Hershey’s Dark Chocolate Cocoa powder and regular cocoa powder, which is a popular brand here, both with great results. Hope you enjoy them! would love for you to report back with what you think. Thanks! :)

Leave a Reply

